Before you seek to carry a weapon in Alaska, it is important that you understand the expectations the state sets out for individuals who choose to carry. While in the state of Alaska, anyone over the age of 21 years old may legally carry a weapon, concealed or open, there are benefits to obtaining a concealed carry permit. The permit may be used as an alternative to the NIC background check when purchasing a firearm. (link: https://dps.alaska.gov/statewide/r-i/permitslicensing/concealedhandguns)
What Are The Requirements to get an Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit?
In order to receive a concealed carry permit, known as a concealed handgun permit, in the state of Alaska, there are several limitations and requirements that must be met, such as:
- the applicant must be over the age of 21
- the applicant must be an Alaskan resident or have lived in the state for at least 90 days prior to the application date
- meet federal and state requirements to own a firearm
- have not been convicted of more than 2 Class A misdemeanors within the last 6 years prior to having applied for the concealed carry licence
- have completed an approved handgun course within the last year prior to submitting the application
- complete the written application form
- submit to fingerprinting, as well as providing the above information and a photo to licensing agent
- pay the $88.25 application fee
What Does Reciprocity Mean, and Why is it Important?
The state of Alaska, as a state that does not require individuals to have a concealed carry license, does have a reciprocity clause. This means that should an individual receive an Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit, the individual’s permit will be recognized and considered valid within the state. Furthermore, it means that an individual who has a concealed carry permit from another state who has come to terms and agreed to the reciprocity clauses with Alaska may carry their weapon in Alaska (providing they meet the primary restriction in Alaska, which is that the carrier must be over the age of 21. A permit cannot override this particular clause in Alaska, as it is part of the state’s gun laws.)
Alaska has a reciprocity clause with 38 other states – however, it is advised that when an individual intends on traveling to another state, they confirm that the state is included in the list of states that participate in the reciprocity clause. Furthermore, they advise that any individual who is traveling reviews the gun laws of the state that they er traveling to, as different states do have different restrictions required for carrying that must be followed in order to ensure they are following the state’s reciprocity clause.
What Online Courses Can I Take To Successfully Complete The Handgun Course?
As a necessary step in obtaining a concealed handgun permit in the state of Alaska, it is important to know what your options are – in order to receive an Alaskan permit, one has to have completed one of the states approved handgun licensing courses. However, there is a specific list of courses that have been approved by the state. It is important to note that no courses provided outside of the state of Alaska that is not on the list of approved courses will be applicable.
This means that it is vital that you ensure you are spending your money on the right course – otherwise when attempting to apply for the concealed handgun permit, you may be turned away for not having met the requirements as laid out by the state of Alaska.
While there are not many online courses available that will qualify an individual for the Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit, there are many options that may be beneficial for an individual who is seeking a reciprocity license – online courses that are valid in other states that partake in reciprocity with Alaska can be taken, and many states offer concealed carry permits for non-residents, which will provide the individual from Alaska who is seeking a license the ability to get a license from a different state without an issue.
In this way, online courses may be highly beneficial to the individual, as it often saves time – the courses are often no more than one to two hours long, compared to many in-person classes, which can be several days or weeks, depending on the state you are participating in. Furthermore, they are often much more low priced, which provides individuals who are looking for cost-effective methods of obtaining a permit with alternative options to ensure they are able to obtain the permit they seek within their budget.
Is The Concealed Handgun Permit Worth It?
After reading this article, you may find yourself asking whether it is worth obtaining the concealed carry permit in the state of Alaska. There are a variety of factors to consider when making this choice – for instance, while the state of Alaska does not require a permit to carry a weapon, many other states do. If you intend to frequently travel to other states, for instance, it may be useful for you to have a permit, as Alaska has reciprocity with 38 states (the list of states that participate can be found here https://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/PermitsLicensing/Reciprocity ).
Furthermore, it is important to consider if you feel that it will be beneficial. Many individuals find that the permit provides them with “legal coverage” meaning, should any incidents occur, they have legally proven that they are trained and capable of using their weapon. While it is not required to have the permit in the state of Alaska, in some situations, it can be helpful to be able to provide your permit as a form of identification and proof of ownership. Moreover, it allows individuals to forgo the background check required when purchasing a weapon, so for multi-weapon owners, it may be beneficial to invest in an Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit.
Overall, the choice is yours – it is not required within the state of Alaska, however, you may find that there are many benefits to obtaining a permit. The steps above can be used to ensure that you are meeting all of the requirements to apply and successfully receive said permit.