Oklahoma is a constitutional carry state. This means that you do not require a gun license or any gun permit to make use of a firearm in the state.
Being a permitless state does not mean that the state does not issue a gun license. Oklahoma is a shall-issue state and you will get a gun license if you meet all state requirements for a gun license application. Gun licenses are processed in local counties by the sheriff in charge.
You also do not need a license to purchase firearms from a private dealer or gun show in the state. Buying from a dealer does not involve gun registration or a waiting period for the constitutional NICS background check.
However, if you are purchasing a firearm from a federally licensed individual in the state you need to complete a background test.
Possession of Firearms in Oklahoma
For the possession of a firearm in the state, open carry is legal. And since constitutional carry in Oklahoma is allowed, you do not need a license to open carry. As long as you are within the required age of 21 and you are legally allowed to possess a firearm, you can open carry in Oklahoma.
To prevent open carry of a firearm for illegitimate reasons, Oklahoma will only allow you to open carry for self-defense reasons. You can also open carry for various activities like hunting, firearm training, and entertainment reasons.
Constitutional carry in Oklahoma started in November 2019. It is legal for everyone that meets the requirements for both open and concealed carry in the state.
Gun License Application in Oklahoma
Oklahoma gun permit is known as Self Defense Act License. Only residents of the state can apply for this permit. Also, military personnel and members of their families stationed in Oklahoma will be able to apply for this license.
To apply for an Oklahoma gun license, you must be at least 21 years old, pass firearm training and meet every other requirement provided by the state.
License holders in Oklahoma will have restrictions on the firearm caliber they can possess. The highest available one is 45 calibers. Oklahoma does not issue its gun permit to non-residents of the state. But nonresidents are allowed to possess firearms, according to Oklahoma gun law, by virtue of reciprocity. Oklahoma will accept gun permits from every other state in the USA.
If you are from a state that allows constitutional carry, Oklahoma will allow you to possess firearms within its territory without a permit.
The body in charge of issuing a gun license in Oklahoma is the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. To apply for the gun license, you must be a citizen of the USA or have a legal resident permit. The age requirement to apply is 21, only members of the US military that are not dishonorably discharged can apply when they are at least 18 years old.
Application for Oklahoma gun license is signed under oath and in the presence of a local sheriff of the county you reside. It is the responsibility of the sheriff to verify that the applicant is the same person that signed the oath.
Other requirements to complete the application for an Oklahoma gun license include completion of NICS background check, proof of gun training, and payment of application fee.
NB: The application fee is nonrefundable.
Firearm training in Oklahoma must be done under the tutelage of a state-approved firearm trainer. You can also complete a firearm training by taking any of the online course that is approved by Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training
Oklahoma firearm training course is an eight hours’ duration course. Upon completion of the course, you will be qualified to make use of a firearm of your specialty. This could be a revolver, a derringer, or a semi automatic firearm. You can qualify for the combination of all 3 if you complete the firearm training with a semiautomatic pistol. But if you did not train with a semiautomatic pistol, only the combination of a derringer and revolver is acceptable.
NB: None of the firearms must have more than a .45 ammunition caliber.
Those that are not required to complete firearm training prior to license application are approved and registered trainers, active and retired law enforcement officers. A firearm training certificate will be valid for just 3 years and must be submitted alongside the gun license application.
The body in charge of the license application has 3 months to either approve or reject the application. If your application is denied, you may appeal the denial within 60 days. A temporary license can be issued to anyone with a protective order under the order of the court. The temporary license will be valid for only six months.
Information regarding the license application and the application status are all private and will remain confidential. They will be only made available to the law enforcement agency for crime-related issues.
Oklahoma gun license will be valid for either ten or five years except the state suspends or revokes it.
Places Where You Cannot Possess Firearms in Oklahoma
Even though Oklahoma is a constitutional carry state, the state laws still restrict places where you can possess firearms and ammunition:
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in any building or property leased by the federal or state government, municipalities, or counties, for conducting business with the general public.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in meetings or events held by government officials, those in charge of municipalities and counties, legislative members, school management, and elected officials in the state.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in a courthouse or during normal court proceedings.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in stadiums or sports arenas that are used for any professional sporting activity unless you have permission from those in charge.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in casinos, game houses, or anywhere gambling is not allowed in the state unless you are permitted by those in charge.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in any elementary or secondary school in the state, and this includes vehicles used by these schools.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in colleges, universities, and technical institutions except if permitted by the school authorities, or the firearm is in your vehicle, kept away from public sight.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in prisons or any other detention or correctional facility in the state.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in places that sell alcoholic drinks, where it is the primary source of their income.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry anywhere, as long as you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in private properties, businesses, and organizations that prohibit the possession of firearms on their premises.
- You are not allowed to conceal carry in places prohibited by federal laws of the state.
Requirements for Gun License Application is Oklahoma.
Oklahoma provides the following requirement for the purchase of firearms in the stat:
- You must be at least twenty-one years old, and military members must be eighteen.
- You must be a citizen of the United States of America.
- You must be a resident of Oklahoma.
- You must have a form of state identification. This could either be a driver’s license of an issued identification card in Oklahoma.
- You must understand all the laws that have to do with self-defense in Oklahoma.
- You must complete an Oklahoma co firearm training, or you should provide a letter of exemption.
- All information you provide for the Oklahoma gun permit application must be accurate.
- You must not be a felony convict or have an ongoing felony charge.
- You must not have any suicide-related case or any mental instability for ten years before you apply for Oklahoma concealed carry.
- You must not be a patient of any related mental illness in any health institution.
- You must not be a convict for battery, violence, or stalking.
- You must not violate any Protection from Domestic Act from Oklahoma or another state.
- You must not be a convict for crimes related to the use of narcotics and other controlled substances by the DEA.
- You must not be a convict for any domestic violence or assault.
- You must not have multiple convictions due to intoxication for three years before the application.
- You must not have multiple convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol or any other intoxicating substance for three years before application.
- You must not have any character evidence proving that you are a criminal or indicate crime activities.
- You must meet all federal laws relating to a gun permit application.
Is Constitutional Carry a Preemption Gun Law in Oklahoma?
The second part of Oklahoma preemption gun law states that no municipality or subdivision of Oklahoma has the right to enact a law or ordinance that concerns the regulation, sales, purchase, transfer, possession, transportation, taxation, and licensing of weapons including firearms and ammunition.
This means that permitless carry in Oklahoma is the same in every part of the state. Counties, local governments and municipalities do not have any right to prohibit constitutional carry in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma Gun Laws
Oklahoma Concealed Carry Laws
Oklahoma Open Carry Laws
Oklahoma Gun Permit Laws