The information provided on the Website is for general information purposes only and is not an alternative to legal advice from your lawyer. This post may contain references to products and services from our partners. We may receive commissions from our partners when you click on some of the links. Learn More
Alaska is ranked as one of the most friendly U.S. states for gun laws. It’s even recognized internationally for it’s unique stance on an individuals rights to carry a firearm.
Alaska law states that anyone 21 years or older can legally own a firearm and conceal carry without a permit being required. It’s your choice to obtain a permit, and if you decide to there are 38 states who offer reciprocity. There are no permits offered for non-residents, however it’s important to note you can legally carry as a non-resident.
|Open Carry Permitted?||Yes!|
|Carry In Vehicle?||Yes!|
|Carry In State Park?||Yes!|
|Carry In Restaurants?||Yes!|
|No Weapon Sign Enforced?||Yes!|
|Must Notify Officer?||Yes!|
Alaska has signed reciprocity agreements with the seven states listed below. The reciprocity agreements can be viewed at the Department of Public Safety website by clicking on (agreement) next to the state name.
Arizona, Florida, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota
AS 11.61.220 – Banned Places
7 AAC 10.1080 – Firearms and Ammunition
Open carry is legal as long as the individual is 16, however be aware that this conflicts with federal law which indicated that individuals under 18 cannot possess a firearm.
Anyone who is 21 years old and is legally allowed to own a firearm are permitted to carry the weapon openly or concealed in their vehicle. As stated below, you’re required to disclose to law enforcement if you’re carrying a firearm. Alaska law states you must be 16 to possess and transport a handgun without a permit. The handgun MUST be unloaded and secured in a vehicle. The Law AS 11.61.220 AS 18.65.800 – Possession of firearms in motor vehicles 18 USC 922(x) – Federal law on transferring and possession of firearm by juvenile.
You can legally carry in the areas below; State Parks: YES AS 11.61.220 State/National Forests: YES AS 11.61.220 State Game Management Units: YES Road Side Rest Areas: YES AS 11.61.220
In Restaurants Which Serve Alcohol Places that serve alcohol are listed as off-limit for persons carrying loaded firearms. The law makes an exception for restaurants that serve only beer or wine (but not liquor) if alcohol is not consumed. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol. The Law AS 11.61.220
If a person is 21 years and can legally possess a handgun they are allowed to carry without a permit.
“No Weapons” signs have the force of law behind them in Alaska. There are severe legal penalties for not following these signs. The corresponding laws are below: The Law 13 AAC 30.110. Notification of Places Where Concealed Handguns May not be Carried (b) Nothing in this chapter or in AS 18.65.700 – 18.65.790 precludes a person from posting, to the extent allowed by law, a notice regarding the carrying of a concealed handgun.
Alaska gun law states that you must inform a law enforcement officer that you have a firearm if they approach you on official business. The law doesn’t state you need to carry a permit, but it’s always recommended to carry it with you, along with a photo ID, when in the possession of a handgun. The Law AS 11.61.220 – Alaska