Hawaii operates as a “May Issue” state which means the county will issue the concealed carry permit. However, it’s very rare for a resident to obtain a permit. In 2000, mandatory county reporting began, and since then only 4 permits have been given. 2 were issued in Maui in 2001 and two on Kauai, 1 to a local judge and another in 2013 to an active military member for 12 days. There is a case being tried currently in federal court to try and force Hawaii to begin issuing permits, however this will take years to resolve.
- Must be at least 21 years old
- Must be a lawful resident of Hawaii
- Must be able to show reason to fear injury to your person or property.
- Able to possess a firearm under Hawaii law.
- Not have been judged to be insane or incapacitated under Hawaii law.
- Qualified to use a firearm.
134.9 Licenses to Carry
No permits have ever been renewed.
Fingerprinting fee: $16.50
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
Places Not Allowed
Carry In Vehicle
Carry In State Parks
Carry In Restaurants
No Weapons Signs Enforced
Must Notify Officer