Virginia is considered a "shall-issue" state where the state will issue a concealed carry permit to residents through the Virginia Handgun Permit. They will also provide a non-resident with a Virginia Handgun Permit if they have a valid state license.
Virginia allows residents to mail their applications into the circuit court for CCW issuance, while non-residents are allowed to mail their applications to the Virginia State Police.
As of July 1, 2020, all handgun and rifle sales are required to have a completed background check through a dealer. This applies to both private individual sales and sales from Federal Firearm Dealer. You must know that a one-handgun restriction is in effect for any resident who DOES NOT have a valid CCW permit.
Virginia allows for open carry without a permit for any individual who is at least 18 and is legally allowed to own and possess a firearm. There are certain restrictions within local towns. Please read on the specific city designations.
Virginia Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Virginia is not considered a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Virginia allows for open carry without a permit for any individual 18 years or older and who is legally allowed to own a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Virginia allows for concealed carry of a firearm with a permit. If you're transporting handguns and don't have a permit, then you must secure the handgun in a locked container which includes a glovebox, center console, or any other area where you can close the container.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Virginia allows for concealed carry within their state and national parks so long as you have a Virginia CCW permit.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - Virginia allows for concealed carry within restaurants and bars with a valid CCW permit and you must not be intoxicated whatsoever.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were unable to find specific language giving no weapons signs the force of law. However, you must be aware that there are specific areas within the Virginia code that prevent firearms, and if a no weapons sign is place in these areas you must respect that.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - We could not find any duty to inform laws within the Virginia statutes.
Virginia CCW Reciprocity List
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with Virginia
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
How Reciprocity Works In Virginia
Virginia honors all valid out of state CCW permits. Any person issued a concealed carry permit in another state may carry in Virginia provided they meet the following conditions;
- They are at least 21 years old.
- They must carry photo ID issued by a government agency of any state or the US Department of State or US Department of Defense.
- The permit must be displayed with photo ID upon request from law enforcement.
- The permit holder has not had a Virginia concealed carry permit revoked in the past.
Virginia: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Places Not Allowed
- Private property when prohibited by the owner of the property, or where posted as prohibited
- Place of religious worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held
- School property or school functions (School buses are school property)
- Non-secure areas of airport terminals
- Regional Jail or Juvenile Detention Facility
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Virginia: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carrying a handgun without a permit/license is legal in Virginia and common. The minimum age for open carry is 18.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, vehicle carry is allowed in a personal, private motor vehicle or vessel and such handgun is secured in a container or compartment in the vehicle or vessel. The term “compartment” includes a console, glove compartment, or any other area within or on the vehicle or vessel that possesses the ability to be closed and the term “secured” means that a container or compartment be closed but not necessarily locked.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, it is legal to carry in the following areas:
- State Parks: YES
- State/National Forests: YES
- State Game Management Units: YES
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Carry In Restaurants
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol If a Virginia restaurant does not have “NO WEAPONS” signs posted you can open and conceal carry a firearm into the restaurant. However, you are not allowed to consume alcohol if you conceal carry into the restaurant.
The Law 18.2-308.012
No, Virginia does not have constitutional carry laws.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Virginia gun statutes. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is nothing in Virginia gun statutes that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require you to carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
Virginia Concealed Carry Laws
Virginia Open Carry Laws
Virginia Gun Permit Laws