Idaho allows any person 18 years old to carry a concealed firearm outside of cities without a permit. These changes came into effect in March 2020 and now, to carry inside a city with no permit, you must be 21 years old. You can obtain an enhanced concealed carry permit which is available to those who want to travel out-of-state. Keep in mind, some reciprocity states only accept the enhanced version of Idaho’s permit.
To get your concealed carry weapons permit, residents can send applications to their local county sheriff’s office. Non-residents can only apply at the Ada county sheriff’s office or Canyon county.
Idaho is a “Shall Issue” state for concealed carry, while open carry is legal and common in Idaho for those who are 18 years or older.
Idaho Gun Laws Quick Facts
✅ Yes - Idaho is recognized as a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Idaho allows for individual (resident or non resident) to openly carry firearm, including a handgun, if they're over the age of 18 and legally allowed to posses and use a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Idaho allows for individuals to carry firearms in their vehicle (either concealed or openly).
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Individuals are allow to carry firearms in state parks, national parks, and wildlife areas.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - We were not able to find legislation prohibiting of carrying into restaurants or establishments that sell alcohol. However, there is specific language that you cannot be under the influence of drugs or alcohol and carry a firearm.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We could not find language that states no weapons signs have the rule of law.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - Individuals are not required to inform law enforcement officers if you're concealed carrying.
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with Idaho
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
Reciprocity Agreements In Idaho
Idaho: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
Places Not Allowed
- Public or private school
- State courthouse
- Juvenile detention facility
- Adult correctional facility
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Idaho: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, Idaho has no restrictions on open carry and it is common in this state. The minimum age for open carry is 18 years old.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, Idaho allows for individuals who are legally allowed to posses a firearm to carry them in their vehicles (both concealed or openly).
Here is the snippet of law from Idaho Statute Section 18-3302 mentioning this:
"No person shall carry concealed weapons on or about his person without a license to carry concealed weapons, except:
(a) In the person’s place of abode or fixed place of business;
(b) On property in which the person has any ownership or leasehold interest;
(c) On private property where the person has permission to carry concealed weapons from any person with an ownership or leasehold interest;"
From our understanding vehicles are considered property which allows for the carrying of firearms.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, you are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas
Carry In Restaurants
Yes, “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
Yes, for RESIDENTS ONLY
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Idaho gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
Must Notify Officer
No, Idaho gun laws do not say you have to inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm.