Oregon is considered a "shall-issue" in regards to their concealed carry permits. They process the application at the local level with the sheriff's office handling all applications. The state allows for the sheriff to operate "some discretion" if there's any legitimate grounds for the sheriff to believe the applicant is a danger to themself or others. For the most part, a residences application will get approved if you're legally allowed to possess a firearm.
There is no license requirement to purchase a firearm if you're purchasing from a private individual. If you decide to purchase a firearm from a Federal Firearms Dealer, you will be subject to a background check and a record of the sale will be kept with the Oregon State Police department. They will hold this data for up to 5 years.
Oregon residents are allowed to open carry without a permit, but it must be known that local municipalities are allowed to place restrictions on open carry. Please pay attention to local directives.
Oregon Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Oregon is not a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes- Oregon does allow for open carry without a license for residents. It's important to note though that local municipalities have the right to prohibit open carry for individuals without an Oregon CHL. If you plan on carrying you must double check with each specific city for verification.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Oregon allows for concealed carry within vehicles so long as you have an Oregon concealed handgun license. If you do not have the CHL then you many not concealed carry. You must store your handgun in a secured case not readily accessible.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Oregon does allow for concealed carry within their state parks as long as you have an Oregon CHL.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - We were not able to find any code making the concealed carrying of a firearm illegal so long as you have the Oregon CHL.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were not able to find any code giving no weapons signs the force of law.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - Oregon is not a duty to inform state. However, if you're concealed carrying then you must have your permit on you at all times along with a valid photo ID.
Oregon CCW Reciprocity List
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with Oregon
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
Oregon does not recognize concealed carry permits issued by any other states.
How Reciprocity Works In Oregon
Unfortunately, Oregon does not have any reciprocal relationships with other states CCW.
Oregon: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed as off limits
Places Not Allowed
- Posted private property where the owner prohibits firearms
- Posted private businesses
- State courthouses
- Correctional facility
- The Oregon Capitol
- Portland International Airport terminal (exception for checked and unloaded guns that are securely stored)
- Schools, community colleges, and universities
- Indian reservation and some casinos on reservations, unless permission granted
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Oregon: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, you are legally entitled to open carry without a license in Oregon if you are 18 years old or older. However, local governments can set their own laws for persons who do not have a handgun license and are carrying a loaded handgun. So you must check up on the local laws before you open carry. If you open carry without a handgun license then all public buildings are off limits.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, there are no state laws that ban the carrying of loaded firearms in a vehicle without a ccw permit provided the firearm is not concealed or not readily accessible. However, local governments can set their own laws on public places which includes vehicles. So you would need to check the local regulations. If you have a Handgun license then none of the above applies to you.
Carry In State Parks
Yes. you are permitted to carry in the following areas:
- State Parks: YES
- State/National Forests: YES – Dept of Forestry 629.025.0050
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES – ORS 166.37
Carry In Restaurants
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
No, Oregon is not considered a constitutional carry state.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Oregon gun laws. There are no legal penalties for lawfully entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
Must Notify Officer
No, Oregon gun laws make no mention of informing law enforcement you have a weapon. The laws do state that you must have with you at all times you are carrying a firearm your permit and produce this when requested.
The Law ORS 166.292
Oregon Concealed Carry Laws
Oregon Open Carry Laws
Oregon Gun Permit Laws