Michigan operates as a “Shall Issue” state where the local office will approve a Conceal Carry permit.
Background checks and firearm registration are required to purchase handguns privately.
You’re required to be a resident to buy a hang-gun, but non-residents can buy a long gun. Concealed carry permits requires a firearms training course approved Michigan. Active military have some exceptions for purchasing a handgun, where you must have a Michigan driver’s license or are registered to vote in Michigan.
Michigan Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Michigan is not recognized as a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Michigan allows for open carry for residents 18 years or older and who are legally allowed to possess a firearm, so long as you've registered the gun with the state. If you're a non-resident, you must have a CCW permit from your home state.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - You may concealed carry a handgun so long as you have a valid CCW permit. If you do not have a permit, you must transport your firearm unloaded in a locked case in a place not easily accessible by the passengers of the vehicle (for example, you couldn't put it in your glove compartment).
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Michigan allows for concealed carry within their state and national parks (including the forests and wildlife areas) so long as you have a permit.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - Michigan allows for concealed carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol so long as you have a CCW permit and are under the influence of any alcohol. Michigan doesn't allow for concealed carry in any establishment that makes more than 50% of their revenue from alcohol.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were not able to find language giving no weapons signs the force of law, except for locations explicitly defined in the statutes as off-limits.
Must Notify Officer?
✅ Yes - Michigan is considered a duty to inform state. When interacting with an officer you must notify them you're carrying (regardless of if they ask or not).
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted reciprocity with Michigan
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
All CCW permits from other states are honored by Michigan with the exception of Non-resident permits. Michigan will only honor permits issued to residents of the state the permit was issued in. And the person cannot remain in Michigan for longer than 180 days.
Reciprocity Agreements In Michigan
Michigan: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Places Not Allowed
- Schools or school property but may carry while in a vehicle on school property while dropping off or picking up if a parent or legal guardian
- Public or private day care center, public or private child caring agency, or public or private child placing agency
- Courtroom, office, or other space used for official court business
- Sports arena or stadium
- A tavern where the primary source of income is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass consumed on the premises
- Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other place of worship
- An entertainment facility that the individual knows or should know has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more
- A hospital
- A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university
- A Casino
- Michigan State University, University of Michigan, Wayne State University
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Michigan: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, carrying a handgun without a CPL license in Michigan is legal with a few restrictions. Without a CPL you cannot open carry at a business or grocery store that sell’s alcohol. Residents of Michigan can open carry a handgun without a CPL license if the gun is registered to their name. Some areas listed as off limits may not apply to persons who open carry. Non-residents who do not have a CCW license from their home state are not allowed to conceal or open carry.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, if you do not have a CPL license then you cannot carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle. Unless the firearm is unloaded and is one or more of the following:
- Enclosed in a case.
- Carried in the trunk of the vehicle.
- Inaccessible from the interior of the vehicle.
If you have a CPL license from Michigan then you can carry a loaded and concealed firearm in a vehicle.
The Law 750.227d – Transporting firearm
Carry In State Parks
Yes, it is legal to carry in the following areas:
- State Parks: YES – 324.504(6)
- State/National Forests: YES – 324.504(6)
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – 324.504(6)
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Carry In Restaurants
In restaurants that serve alcohol, “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol. The Law 28.425o
No, Michigan does not have constitutional carry.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Michigan gun laws. There are no legal penalties for lawfully entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
Must Notify Officer
Yes, if you are licensed to carry a concealed handgun and are stopped by the police then Michigan gun laws require you to immediately disclose that you are carrying a concealed weapon on you or in the vehicle. You must carry your permit/license at all times that you are carrying a concealed pistol, as well as your Driver’s License or state-issued ID card.
The Law 28.425f (3)