Utah

utah state seal
utah state flag

Utah is known for having fairly unrestrictive gun laws, but you must have a permit to carry a concealed firearm.

Permits are issued to non-residents and residents who are at least 21 and have completed a firearms training course.

Individuals 18-21 can obtain a provisional permit, where the applications are processed by the Bureau of Criminal Identification.

Open carry of unloaded firearms is legal without a permit.

Utah

REQUIREMENTS

Standard Permit

  • Must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Proof of good character.
  • Completed a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI.
  • Has not been convicted of a felony.
  • Has not been convicted of any crime of violence.
  • Has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol.
  • Has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances.
  • Has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude.
  • Has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence.
  • Has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed.
  • Is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm.
  • Federal Law Requirements

Provisional Permit
Persons aged between 18 – 21 can obtain a provisional permit. Apart from the age, the requirements are the same as those for a standard permit. These permits are also issued to non-residents. However, there are a number of states that will not honor the provisional permit as the required age to carry concealed is 21 in these states.

APPLICATION

Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. Complete a firearms training course.
  2. Download the application from under the forms section.
  3. Have fingerprints taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification – $15 for one photo, $15 for 3 fingerprint cards.
  4. You will need these documents;
    • Completed application form
    • Photocopy of drivers license
    • Photograph – passport quality
    • Non-resident proof of permit
    • Fingerprint card, one card
    • Weapon familiarity certificate
  5. Applications accepted through mail or in person;
    Bureau of Criminal Identification
    3888 West 5400 South
    Salt Lake City, Utah 84129
  6. You will be notified by mail if your permit has been issued or declined.

Non-Residents
The application process for non-residents is exactly the same as for residents. You will need to complete a firearms training course with a certified Utah instructor and there is an extra charge of $10 for the permit fee.

RENEWALS

  • Renewal notices are usually sent out one month before the expiry date. If you have changed address be sure to notify the Bureau of Criminal Identification.
  • Permits can be renewed within 90 days before the expiry date but not before 90 days.
  • Or, within 12 months after the expiry date.
  • If a permit has been expired for more than 12 months then a new application process will need to be started.

You can renew permits online or by mail. There is an extra charge of $0.75 for online renewals, described as a convenience fee on the official site.

For mail applications you will need to download the application form and once completed send it to the following address with payment;

Utah Department of Public Safety
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, UT 84129

FEES

Application Type Original Renewal
Residents $57 $15.75
Non-Residents $67 $15.75
Replacement $10

NOTE
Photos and fingerprints may be obtained at the Bureau of Criminal Identification (3888 W 5400 S, Taylorsville, UT.) The cost is $15.00 for 1 photo and $15.00 for up to 3 fingerprint cards.

Utah

Utah

Utah

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Utah

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Utah

  • Guam
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

Utah

How Reciprocity Works in Utah

  • The state of Utah will honor all other state permits.
  • There are 36 states that honor the standard Utah CCW permit.
  • However, 6 of these states will only honor a Utah residential permit.
  • And 19 states will not honor the Utah Provisional permit.

Utah

Standard & Provisional Permits

There are two types of permits in Utah, a Standard Permit and a Provisional Permit, the later being issued to persons aged between 18 – 21. Some states will not accept both these permits due to the low age requirements on the Provisional Permit. The standard permit is very popular for non-residents as it allows them to travel in 30 states with a handgun. For a full list of what permits a state will accept please look at the official reciprocity list.

Utah

Places Allowed

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed as Off-Limits

Places Not Allowed

  • Any courthouse
  • Any secure area in which firearms are prohibited
  • Mental health facility
  • Correctional facility
  • Church or house of worship that has given notice firearms are prohibited
    • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
    • Congregation of Kol Ami
  • Secure area of airport
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

Utah

Yes
YES/NO – WITHOUT A PERMIT Without a permit, you can only open carry a handgun if it is unloaded (no bullet in the chamber, but can have a full magazine) and at least two actions from being fired. As an example; 1. Rack the slide to chamber, 2. Then pull the trigger If you have a permit then open carry with a loaded firearm is legal. The Law 76.10.502 76.10.505
Yes
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT If a person is 18 or older and can legally possess a firearm then vehicle carry is legal if the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession, or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle. If you do not have a permit then you must carry an unloaded firearm outside any vehicle. The Law 76.10.505 76.10.511
Yes
YES It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: YES State/National Forests: YES State Wildlife Management Areas: YES Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Yes
YES “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Nothing in Utah law prevents a person from carrying a concealed handgun in a bar or restaurant where alcohol is being served. You should be aware though that it is a crime to be in possession of a firearm if you are intoxicated. Intoxication levels are based on those used for driving a vehicle.
No
No
YES/NO “No Weapons” signs under Utah gun laws have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits. The law specifically mentions “places of worship” and “private residences”. If any of these places has posted a “No Weapons” sign then it is illegal to enter. A place of business is not mentioned in the law so it would be legal to enter a posted business although we do not recommend that.
No
NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER Utah gun laws do not require you to inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm. There is also no requirement to carry a permit.

Utah

Quick Facts

Open Carry

Yes

Carry In Vehicle

Yes

Carry In State Parks

Yes

Carry In Restaurants

Yes

Constitutional Carry

No

No Weapons Signs Enforced

No

Must Notify Officer

No
Quick Links

Get Started

  • Training
  • Gear
  • Reviews

Resources

Join The Movement

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Copyright 2018 © All rights Reserved.