Georgia

georgia-state-seal
georgia-state-flag

Georgia gun laws are as follow: you must be at least 21 or 18 if you’re in the military. Applications can be filed at residence counties Court and are handled at the county level. No license is required to carry a firearm in a person’s home, vehicle, place of business, while fishing or hunting, or unloaded in a case. Interestingly, there is an ordinance in Kennesaw City, GA that states that all homeowners must own a firearm, although it is unlikely enforced.

Georgia

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years of age or 18 if in the military.
  • Resident of the county you file the application in.
  • Must be a US citizen or lawful alien.
  • Your weapons license has not been revoked in the last 3 years.
  • Federal Law Requirements

APPLICATIONS

Follow these steps to obtain a permit;

  1. Download the application form or pickup from the Probate court. Some counties have online applications.
  2. You will need the following documents;
    • Completed application form.
    • Copy of birth certificate or US passport
    • Drivers license or state ID card showing your county address
  3. Submit your application at the county Probate court.
  4. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

RENEWALS

  • You can apply to have a license renewed 90 days prior to the expiration date or within 30 days after the license has expired.
  • A new application will need to be made if the license is more than 30 days past the expiration date.
  • Renewal requirements are the same as for a new permit.

LICENSE FEE’S

The cost varies between counties but are similar to the fees Henry County charges as listed below;

Application Conditions Original Renewal
Individual $75 varies by county $40

Replacements: $6

Accepted forms of payment
Credit card, Debit card, Cash, Money orders, Local county checks – payable to Probate Court.
(will vary in different counties)

Georgia

Georgia

Georgia

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Georgia

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Georgia

    Georgia

    Georgia

    Georgia

    Places Allowed

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

    Places Not Allowed

    • School bus
    • School function
    • School safety zone – building or property leased or owned by any public or private elementary, secondary, technical or vocational school, college, university or other institute of post secondary education
    • Secured area of an airport
    • In a courthouse
    • In a government building if restricted by security personnel
    • In a church or place of worship
    • In a jail or prison
    • In a state mental health facility
    • On the premises of a nuclear power facility
    • Within 150 feet of any polling place when elections are being conducted
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

    Georgia

    Yes
    Open carry is legal in Georgia if you have a CCW license. The license allows you to carry in any way, open or concealed. If you do not have a CCW license then you are not permitted to openly carry in Georgia.
    Yes
    You can openly or conceal carry a firearm in your vehicle without a license. The law says you can only carry a firearm on your own property, this includes your vehicle, so when you leave the vehicle you will need a carry license. The law specifically states you need a carry license “outside your property”. The Law § 16.11.126
    Yes
    It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: YES State/National Forests: YES State Game Management Units: YES Road Side Rest Areas: YES The Law § 16.11.127
    Yes
    In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol. The Law § 16.11.127
    No
    No
    “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Georgia gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
    No
    There is nothing in Georgia gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does state that you must carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun. The Law § 16.11.137

    Georgia

    Quick Facts

    Open Carry

    Yes

    Carry In Vehicle

    Yes

    Carry In State Parks

    Yes

    Carry In Restaurants

    Yes

    Constitutional Carry

    No

    No Weapons Signs Enforced

    No

    Must Notify Officer

    No
    Quick Links

    Get Started

    • Training
    • Gear
    • Reviews

    Resources

    Join The Movement

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Instagram

    Copyright 2020 Digital Marketing By Phillip Chambers