Vermont is a very permissive state for firearms. Vermont operates on an “Unrestricted” status and doesn’t issue permits to carry a firearm. Any individual older than 16 and can legally posses a firearm is allowed to conceal or open carry.
Vermont doesn’t distinguish between a resident or non-resident in terms of carry laws.
Vermont Gun Laws Quick Facts
✅ Yes - Vermont is recognized as a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Vermont allows for open carry without a permit for any individual 18 years or older and who it legally allowed to own a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Vermont allows for carry within a vehicle without a permit.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Vermont allows for concealed and open carry within state and national parks without a permit.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - We could not find any specific code preventing concealed or open carry in restaurants or bars. However, you cannot consume any alcohol whatsoever and carry a firearm.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
✅ Yes - Vermont gives no weapons signs the force of law. You may not enter into any building with a no weapons sign posted.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - We were unable to find any specific laws requiring duty to inform.
States Honoring CCW
The state of Vermont does not issue permits, therefore there is no permit for other states to honor. Below is a list of states that honor all out of state permits.
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
Any individual who has a permit to conceal carry in another reciprocal U.S. state is legally allowed to carry a firearm in Vermont. During their time in Vermont, they will be subject to the laws of the county and state.
Vermont: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Places Not Allowed
- School building or school property
- School bus
- Any state institution
- A building with controlled points of public access, metal screening devices at each point of public access, and locked compartments, accessible only to security personnel, for storage of checked firearms
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Vermont: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carrying a handgun without a permit/license in Vermont is legal if you are at least 18 years old.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, if you are legally allowed to own a firearm you can carry it concealed in a vehicle with no permit/license.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, you are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
Carry In Restaurants
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
Yes, Vermont is recognized as a constitutional carry state.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
Yes, Vermont gun laws have the force of law for “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is nothing in Vermont gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business.