Missouri

missouri-state-seal
missouri-state-flag

In 2017, Missouri became a constitutional carry state. This means no permit is necessary to conceal carry or openly carry a firearm. It’s important to know Missouri issues permits on a “Shall Issue” policy because of reciprocity with other states. There’s no registration requirements for firearms. Missouri also allows specially trained school employees to carry firearms on school grounds. You must be 19 to obtain a permit, and they’re issued at the county sheriff at the local level.

 

Missouri

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 19 years old.
  • Citizen or resident of the United States.
  • Resident of Missouri.
  • Have taken a firearms training course.
  • Have not been convicted or plead guilty to a felony.
  • You are not a fugitive or charged with any crime punishable by more than one year.
  • You  have not plead guilty or been convicted of a misdemeanor such as a crime of violence, driving while under the influence, or possession of a controlled substance within the last 5 years.
  • Have not been judged mentally incompetent.
  • Do not have a dishonorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States.
  • Federal Law Requirements

APPLICATIONS

Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. You will need a firearms training certificate saying you have completed 8 hours of training.
  2. Also some form of Missouri state ID
  3. Some counties will require proof that you are a resident in the county.
  4. You can download an application from the forms section on this website and some counties offer an online application.
  5. If you are not making an online application take all your documents to your local county sheriffs office.
  6. You will also need full payment in the form of cash, money order or check.
  7. You will be fingerprinted at the sheriffs office.
  8. Some counties will notify you by phone within 45 days if your permit has been approved or denied.

RENEWALS

  • You will normally get a reminder in the mail 3 – 6 months before your permits expiry date.
  • You can also submit a renewal application 6 months before the expiry date but not before the 6 months and 12 months after the expiry date.
  • No fingerprints are required for renewals.

PERMIT FEES

Fees can vary between counties but the law states they must not exceed $100 for a standard 5 year permit. The following fees are for Boone county but are similar in other counties.

Application Type Original Renewal
5 Years $93 $50
10 Years $200 $50
25 Years $250 $50
Lifetime $500

The 10 year, 25 year and lifetime permits are not honored in other states.

Missouri

Missouri

Missouri

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Missouri

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Missouri

  • Columbia
  • Guam
  • New York
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

Missouri

Missouri

Missouri

Places Allowed

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

Places Not Allowed

  • Within twenty-five feet of any polling place on any election day
  • Law enforcement agency facilities
  • Any courthouse solely occupied by the circuit, appellate or supreme court, or any courtrooms, administrative offices, libraries or other rooms of any such court
  • Any meeting of the governing body of a unit of local government; or any meeting of the general assembly or a committee of the general assembly
  • Any adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison or jail
  • Any establishment licensed to dispense intoxicating liquor for consumption on the premises
  • Any higher education institution or elementary or secondary school facility
  • Any area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property.
  • Any portion of a building used as a child care facility
  • Any riverboat gambling operation accessible by the public
  • Any gated area of an amusement park.
  • Any church or other place of religious worship
  • Any private property whose owner has posted the premises as being off-limits to concealed firearms
  • Any sports arena or stadium with a seating capacity of five thousand or more.
  • Any hospital accessible by the public
  • Public passenger bus
  • School bus
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

Missouri

Yes
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT Open carry is legal without a permit in Missouri. Local authorities can regulate open carry if a person does not have a CCW permit. If a person does have a CCW permit then they are entitled to open carry anywhere that is not on the prohibited places list and local authorities are by law not allowed to place any restrictions on them. The Law Title III 21.750
Yes
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT A weapon may be carried without a permit anywhere in a vehicle, even concealed on the person. The Law 571.030
Yes
YES It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: YES – 10 CSR 90-2.020 State/National Forests: YES – 3 CSR 10-7.432 (1) State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – 3 CSR 10-7.432 (1) Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Yes
YES In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol You can carry in a restaurant but not if you are intoxicated. “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol. The Law 571.107
Yes
YES Missouri is a constitutional carry state, no permit is required to carry a firearm if you meet the requirements to possess a firearm.
No
NO Missouri gun laws are a bit confusing on “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. However, according to the law, you only commit an offense if you refuse to leave the property after being asked to do so, or repeat the offense in a set period of time.
No
NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER There is nothing in Missouri gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are legally required to carry the permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun. The Law 571.121

Missouri

Quick Facts

Open Carry

Yes

Carry In Vehicle

Yes

Carry In State Parks

Yes

Carry In Restaurants

Yes

Constitutional Carry

Yes

No Weapons Signs Enforced

No

Must Notify Officer

No
Quick Links

Get Started

  • Training
  • Gear
  • Reviews

Resources

Join The Movement

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Copyright 2020 Digital Marketing By Phillip Chambers