Kansas operates as an “Unrestricted” and “Shall Issue” state. While Kansas is a constitutional carry state, anyone between the ages of 18 to 20 can only concealed carry if they obtain their CCW license. Anyone who is 21 and can legally possess a firearm is allowed to conceal carry without a permit.
You must file with the local sheriff if a permit is required for out-of-state travel. To file an application you need to be 21, and you must fill the form out at the sheriff’s office. There are no permits issued for non-residents.
Kansas Gun Laws Quick Facts
✅ Yes - Kansas is considered a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Any individual 18 years or older (and is legally allowed to own a firearm) is allowed to openly carry a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Individuals are allowed to conceal carry a firearm in their vehicle, so long as they're 21 years old and legally allowed to own a firearm. However, if you're at least 18 you can also transport your firearm but it must be unloaded and in a secure container (if you don't have a CCW permit).
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - You're allowed to carry in state parks within Kansas.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ ❌ Yes - You're allowed to conceal and openly carry in restaurants under 2 conditions. First, you cannot carry if there's a posted sign. Second, you cannot be under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were not able to find any specific language in regards to no weapons signs being enforced.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - Kansas does not have a duty to inform law.
Kansas CCW Reciprocity List
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted reciprocity with Kansas
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
How Reciprocity Works In Kansas
Reciprocity Agreements In Kansas
Kansas: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- Public grounds and parking lots/garages
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Places Not Allowed
- K-12 Schools both Public and Private Buildings if posted “No Firearms”
- Governors residence
- Any public building with a posted sign saying “No Firearms”
- Secure areas of any buildings for a correctional facility, jail facility or a law enforcement agency
- State courthouses if posted
- State racetracks if posted
- Under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Kansas: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carry is legal in Kansas with no permit if you are at least 18 years old and allowed to possess a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, anyone who is 21 years of age who can legally possess a handgun can carry it concealed or openly in Kansas without any type of permit/license. The minimum age for possessing and transporting a handgun unloaded and secured in a vehicle without any type of permit/license to carry firearms is 18.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, you are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
Carry In Restaurants
Yes, however, some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If they have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
Yes, Kansas is considered a constitutional carry state.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Kansas gun laws. There are no legal penalties for carrying and entering a private property or business (with consent of course) that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is nothing in Kansas gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business.
Kansas Concealed Carry Laws
Kansas Open Carry Laws
Kansas Gun Permit Laws