Wyoming

Wyoming state seal
Wyoming state flag

Wyoming is a “Shall Issue” state only because of reciprocity reasons. Residents of Wyoming can open carry without a permit, while non-residents must have a permit that Wyoming honors to conceal carry in the state.

It should be known that Wyoming will not issue permits to non-residents.

Wyoming

  • Must be at least 21 years of age
  • Resident of Wyoming for not less than six months
  • Does not suffer from physical infirmity which prevents safe handling of a firearm
  • Demonstrates familiarity with a firearm
  • Does not chronically or habitually use alcoholic liquor and malt beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired
  • Is not currently adjudicated to be legally incompetent
  • Has not been committed to a mental institution
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. Download the application under the FORMS tab.
  2. Fill out the form and print 4 copies.
  3. Obtain a money order or cashiers check for the application fee. Made out to DCI or WY Attorney Generals Office. They do not accept cash, credit cards or personal checks.
  4. Ask your local Sheriffs office about their fees which will be separate from the DCI fees.
  5. Take the forms and money order to the Sheriffs office in the county you reside in.
  6. . Once all applications are submitted to the Sheriff’s Office, the remaining copy is to be taken to a Wyoming DOT Driver’s Services office to have your picture taken for the permit. This must be done within 10 days of your application.
  7. You will be contacted within 60 days by the Sheriffs office when they receive your permit.

New Permits: $64
Renewal: $45 before expiration date
Renewal: $55 after expiration date
Duplicate permit: $5

Acceptable forms of payment
Money order or Cashier’s check – payable to DCI. They do not accept cash, credit cards or personal checks.

NOTE
The sheriff’s office may charge a separate fee for processing and fingerprinting.

Wyoming

Wyoming

Wyoming

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Wyoming

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Wyoming

    Wyoming

    Wyoming

    Wyoming

    Places Allowed

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state – except those listed below

    Places Not Allowed

    • Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration without the written consent of the chief administrator
    • Any detention facility, prison or jail
    • Any courtroom, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the courtroom.
    • Any meeting of a governmental entity
    • Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof
    • Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms
    • Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose
    • Any place where persons are assembled for public worship, without the written consent of the chief administrator of that place
    • Any elementary or secondary school facility
    • Any college or university facility without the written consent of the security service of the college or university
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

    Wyoming

    Yes
    YES – Without a Permit/License Open carry is legal in Wyoming.
    Yes
    YES/NO – Without a Permit/License Any person who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to carry a loaded handgun inside a vehicle as long as it is not concealed on your person and is visible. Wyoming residents who can legally own a firearm can carry it concealed on their person in a vehicle without any type of permit/license. Non-residents must have a permit/license to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle.
    Yes
    YES You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
    Yes
    YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
    Yes
    Yes
    YES Wyoming gun laws give the force of law to “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
    No
    NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law There are no legal requirements under Wyoming gun laws to tell law enforcement you have a firearm. The law does state that you must carry the permit, together with valid identification, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun and shall produce both documents upon demand by a law enforcement officer.

    Wyoming

    Quick Facts

    Open Carry

    Yes

    Carry In Vehicle

    Yes

    Carry In State Parks

    Yes

    Carry In Restaurants

    Yes

    Constitutional Carry

    Yes

    No Weapons Signs Enforced

    Yes

    Must Notify Officer

    No
    Quick Links