Nevada

nevada-state-seal
nevada-state-flag
Nevada operates as a “Shall Issue” state where you obtain the permit at the local county level. Nevada is traditionally an open carry state. There tend to be more areas accessible to a person open carrying compared to one who is concealed carrying.
You must be 21 to obtain a conceal carry and additionally you need to complete a training course. If you’re 18 and in the military you’re allowed to obtain a conceal carry.
Nevada doesn’t require for firearm registration for residents, and non-residents are allowed to purchase long guns but not handguns.

Nevada

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years of age or more.
  • Provide the documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm.
  • Not a fugitive from justice.
  • Have not been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane.
  • Have not been admitted to a mental health facility within the last 5 years.
  • Have not habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired, including DUI convictions within five previous years and Medical Marijuana Patients.
  • Have not been convicted of a crime involving the use, or threatened use of force or violence, including misdemeanor convictions, within the last three (3) years.
  • Have not been convicted of a felony.
  • Have not been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are currently subject to a restraining order or other order of protection against violence.
  • You are not currently on parole or probation.
  • Have not been, within the preceding five (5) years, subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition to:
    • Withholding the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony, or
    • Suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony, or
    • Indictment by a Grand Jury.
  • Have not made a false statement on any application.
  • You are lawful resident of the United States.
  • You are not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal law, city and/or county ordinances.
  • Federal law requirements

APPLICATIONS

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;

  1. Download an application under the forms section on this page or pickup from any LVMPD substation or Sheriffs office.
  2. Take a concealed firearms qualification course from a certified firearms instructor. Be sure your firearms instructor signs the certification form.
  3. Complete all instructions on the application. (Do not sign the form until instructed to do so.)
  4. Present yourself to 400 S. Martin L. King Blvd., Bldg. C during normal business hours with the following items:
    • A completed (unsigned) application
    • Course certification
    • Debit/credit cards, cash, a money order or cashier’s check for the appropriate fee
    • Proof of residency (valid driver’s license)
    • Proof of citizenship, if not born in the US.
  5. They will also take your fingerprints and your picture.
  6. They do a background check, process everything, and notify you by mail if your application was approved.

RENEWALS

To renew a firearms permit in Clark county you must;

  • Take a refresher firearm course
  • Resubmit a complete application packet in person to;
    LVMPD
    Records & Fingerprint Bureau
    400 Sth. Martin Luther King Blvd.
  • Each renewal application will require photo and fingerprint submissions
  • The renewal process can be started at any time, but there will be no credit for unused time. Other counties will only allow the permit to be renewed within 120 days before the expiry date.
  • There are two late renewal fees, one up to 120 days over the permits expiration date and a higher fee for over 120 days

PERMIT FEES

Application Conditions Original Renewal
Individual $96.25 $61.25
Late Renewal $76.25
Late Renewal
(more than 120 days)
$96.25

The cost of a concealed carry permit (CCW) varies between counties but are similar to the fees here for Las Vegas;

CCW Permit Name Change: $25.00
Duplicate Permit/Late Fee/Address Change: $15.00

Accepted forms of payment
Credit/debit cards, Cash, Money order or Cashier’s check.

Nevada

Nevada

Nevada

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Nevada

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Nevada

    Nevada

    Nevada

    Nevada

    Places Allowed

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

    Places Not Allowed

    • Airports
    • Public schools and private schools
    • Child-care facilities
    • Facilities belonging to the University of Nevada, the Community College System, any other vocational/technical school
    • Law enforcement agency facilities
    • Courthouses and courtrooms
    • Hoover Dam
    • Prisons, jails and detention facilities
    • Any buildings with metal detectors or signs prohibiting firearms at each public entrance
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

    Nevada

    Yes
    YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT Open carry in Nevada is legal. The minimum age is 18 years old.
    Yes
    YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT Handguns There is no law against carrying handguns in a vehicle. The handgun must be visible if on a person. Handguns in a glove box, on or under a seat are allowed. You will need a permit to conceal carry a handgun in a holster or pocket while in a vehicle. Long Guns There is however a law for carrying long guns and shotguns in vehicles. Whenever these firearms are carried in a vehicle they must be unloaded, this means there cannot be a cartridge in the chamber, but you can have a loaded magazine in the firearm.
    Yes
    YES It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: YES – NAC 407.105 State/National Forests: YES – NAC 407.105 State Wildlife Management Areas: YES Road Side Rest Areas: YES – NRS202.3673
    Yes
    YES In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol There are no laws in Nevada regarding a open or concealed firearm in a bar or drinking establishment. It’s a different story if you are carrying a firearm and have consumed too much alcohol as it then becomes a crime if you have a blood alcohol content of more than (BAC) .10 or greater.
    No
    No
    NO “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Nevada gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits. Most signs on public buildings only ban concealed carry. You will find you have greater access to areas if you open carry.
    No
    NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER There is nothing in Nevada gun laws that says you must inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm. You are required by law to carry your CCW permit with identification and show these to law enforcement if they request them. The Law NRS202.3667 – Must carry permit

    Nevada

    Quick Facts

    Open Carry

    Yes

    Carry In Vehicle

    Yes

    Carry In State Parks

    Yes

    Carry In Restaurants

    Yes

    Constitutional Carry

    No

    No Weapons Signs Enforced

    No

    Must Notify Officer

    No
    Quick Links

    Get Started

    • Training
    • Gear
    • Reviews

    Resources

    Join The Movement

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Instagram

    Copyright 2020 Digital Marketing By Phillip Chambers