New Hampshire

New Hampshire-state-seal
New Hampshire-state-flag

New Hampshire operates on a “Shall Issue” policy because of reciprocity laws, but it’s fairly unrestricted.

There are no laws restricting the age at which a person can carry firearms. A license is not technically required to open or conceal carry. Non-residents and residents have different application to file. Residents apply to the county sheriff’s office and non-residents to the State Department of Justice.

New Hampshire

REQUIREMENTS

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Give the names and addresses of three references.
  • Provide your drivers license number
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

APPLICATIONS

Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. Download the application form.
  2. You will need the names of three persons for references
  3. Complete the application and take it to your local sheriffs office
  4. or the State Police if a non-resident.
  5. You will be notified within 14 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.

Non-Residents
The application should be mailed to;
NH State Police
Permits and License Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

CCW Application Form – Resident
CCW Application Form – Non Resident

RENEWALS

  • Handgun license renewals must be submitted 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license.
  • The applicant must record the license number and expiration date on the application form.

Non-Residents
The application should be mailed to;
NH State Police
Permits and License Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

Renewal Forms
The new license application form is also used for license renewals . You just need to mark the renewal check box.

LICENSE FEE’S

New Permits and Renewals
$10 local resident
$100 non-resident

Checks should be made payable to
STATE OF N.H. – TREASURER

New Hampshire

New Hampshire

New Hampshire

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

New Hampshire

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

New Hampshire

    New Hampshire

    New Hampshire

    New Hampshire

    Places Allowed

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state except those in the Off-Limits section

    Places Not Allowed

    Title 12 § 159:19 Courtroom Security

    New Hampshire

    Yes
    YES – Without a Permit/License Open or concealed carry without a permit/license in New Hampshire is legal.
    Yes
    YES – Without a License. There are no restrictions on vehicle carry. A lot of info on the web regarding vehicle carry pre-dates the new 2017 laws. Below is the latest law that clearly says you can carry in a vehicle. 159:6 License to Carry. III. The availability of a license to carry a loaded pistol or revolver under this section or under any other provision of law shall not be construed to impose a prohibition on the unlicensed transport or carry of a firearm in a vehicle, or on or about one’s person, whether openly or concealed, loaded or unloaded, by a resident, nonresident, or alien if that individual is not otherwise prohibited by statute from possessing a firearm in the state of New Hampshire.
    Yes
    YES You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas
    Yes
    YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
    Yes
    No
    NO “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in New Hampshire gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
    No
    NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law There is nothing in New Hampshire gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. We always recommend that you carry photo ID, at all times during which you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun. Although that is not a legal requirement in New Hampshire.

    New Hampshire

    Quick Facts

    Open Carry

    Yes

    Carry In Vehicle

    Yes

    Carry In State Parks

    Yes

    Carry In Restaurants

    Yes

    Constitutional Carry

    Yes

    No Weapons Signs Enforced

    No

    Must Notify Officer

    No
    Quick Links

    Get Started

    • Training
    • Gear
    • Reviews

    Resources

    Join The Movement

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Instagram

    Copyright 2018 © All rights Reserved.