New Mexico is a “Shall Issue” state and only issues permits to residents. Compared to other states, New Mexico is fairly unrestrictive, and allows if the conceal carry laws are similar to New Mexico you can transfer your license without much hassle. Open carry is legal and common in the state as long as you have a license.
New Mexico Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - New Mexico is not considered a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - New Mexico allows for open carry without a permit or license for individuals 19 years or older and who are legally allowed to own a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - New Mexico allows for concealed and open carry without a permit within vehicles for individuals 19 years or older and who can legally own a firearm.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - You're allowed to concealed or open carry within State parks IF you have a New Mexico CHL or a permit from a reciprocal state.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ ❌ Yes/No - New Mexico allows for concealed carry within a restaurant that has over 60% of their revenue from food sales if you have a CHL or a reciprocal permit. However, you cannot carry within bars.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
✅ Yes - You may not concealed carry a firearm on any property with clear signs prohibiting such carrying.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - We could not find any duty to inform law for New Mexico.
New Mexico CCW Reciprocity List
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with New Mexico
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
How Reciprocity Works In New Mexico
Any individual who has a permit to conceal carry in another reciprocal U.S. state is legally allowed to carry a firearm in New Mexico. During their time in New Mexico, they will be subject to the laws of the county and state.
Reciprocity Agreements In New Mexico
New Mexico: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – excluding those listed as off limits
Places Not Allowed
- Public schools, colleges and universities, except in a vehicle if older than 19
- Law enforcement agency facilities
- Courts, any State, County, Municipal or Tribal Court
- New Mexico state Capitol building
- State wild life management areas
- Tribal land
- Public buses
- Airport security zones
- On private property where the owner has posted signs indicating that you may not carry or if the owner tells you that you cannot
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
New Mexico: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carry without a license is legal and common in New Mexico. There is full state preemption on gun laws so no local authorities can stop a person from open carry. However, you will need a license to carry in liquor stores. The places listed in our off-limits section also apply to open carry. The minimum age for a person to open carry is 19.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, if you are not prohibited from possessing a firearm then the law in New Mexico allows a loaded, concealed firearm to be carried in a vehicle (includes motorcycles and bicycles) without a license to carry. When you exit the vehicle you cannot have the firearm concealed on your person, unless you have a license for that.
30.7.2 NMSA 1978
Carry In State Parks
No, it is illegal to carry in the following areas:
- State Parks
- State/National Forests
- Road Side Rest Areas
Admin code 126.96.36.199
Carry In Restaurants
It is legal to carry into a restaurant that only sells wine or beer and gets more than 60% of its annual receipts from the sale of food. If the restaurant has posted a “NO WEAPONS” sign than you will not be able to enter the premises. Also note that the law states “Wine or Beer” so it becomes illegal if you enter a restaurant that sells hard liquor.
No, New Mexico does not have constitutional carry.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
Yes, No gun signs in New Mexico have the force of law. If posted they apply to private property and licensed liquor establishments.
10.8.2.16 – Carry on private property
30.7.3 – Carry in liquor establishments
Must Notify Officer
No, there is no requirement in New Mexico to inform law enforcement you are carrying a concealed firearm. The law does require you to have your license on you at all times when you are carrying a concealed firearm and to display that license to law enforcement if requested to do so.
29.19.9 Possession of license
10.8.2.16 D – Display of license
New Mexico Concealed Carry Laws
New Mexico Open Carry Laws
New Mexico Gun Permit Laws