Delaware gun laws operate on a “May Issue” policy. Permits are only issued to full time residents. Applicants must submit their county of residence. In addition, you must provide five references from residents of the county and then you must publish your application in the local newspaper 10 days before the application is filed. The application is then reviewed by the Attorney General’s office and a Court.
Delaware Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Delaware does not recognize constitutional carry for its residents.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Delaware allows for individuals at least 21 years old to openly carry a firearm (including a handgun) without a license or permit so long as that individual is a resident of Delaware and legally allowed to possess a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Individuals are allowed to transport a firearm (either concealed or openly) so long as they have a CDWL (concealed deadly weapon license) or a reciprocal permit from another state that Delaware recognizes. If an individual does not have the correct permit then the firearm must be transported within plain sight and cannot be concealed (like in a trunk, glove box, or center console).
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Individuals are allowed to concealed carry within a state park so long as they have a CDWL or a reciprocal permit from a state Delaware recognizes.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - we were not able to find any code indicating the illegality of concealed carrying a handgun in a restaurant or bar given the presumption that you have a CDWL and are not under the influence.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were not able to find any requirements stating that no weapon signs have the right of law.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - Delaware is not a duty to inform state. However, there is mention that if asked by an officer you must provide a truthful answer to carrying a firearm and produce the appropriate permit along with a valid photo ID.
Delaware CCW Reciprocity List
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with Delaware
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
How Reciprocity Works In Delaware
Reciprocity Agreements In Delaware
Delaware: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- Road side rest areas
Places Not Allowed
- Police stations
- School Bus
- State approved “SLOTS”
- Prisons and other detention facilities
- Wildlife Management Areas
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Delaware: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carrying a handgun without a permit/license in Delaware is legal but not common. The minimum age is 21 years old. You must be a resident of the state and legally allowed to own and handle a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, it is a felony to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle without a permit/license. However, you can still legally carry the firearm in a vehicle if it is in plain site such as on the dash or seat, do not put it in the glove box or any place it cannot be seen. If you have a permit/license then you may carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, it is legal to carry in the following areas:
- State Parks: YES – Admin Rule 9201-21.1 & DE Supreme Court ruling
- State/National Forests: YES – Admin Rule 402-8.8 & DE Supreme Court ruling
- State Wildlife Management Areas: NO – Title 7 – Wildlife 3900-8.3.4
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES – The Law Admin Rule 9201-21.1 Admin Rule 402-8.8 Title 7 – Wildlife 3900-8.3.4
NOTE: The Delaware Supreme Court ruled in December 2017 that the ban on carrying firearms in state parks and National forests was unconstitutional. CA S16C-06-018 (S)
Carry In Restaurants
Yes, currently as of this writing there is no specific code stating that it's illegal to conceal carry a handgun into an establishment that sells alcohol, including restaurants or bars. However, you must have a CDWL (concealed deadly weapon license) and you CANNOT be under the influence of alcohol.
As always, it's highly recommend you do not mix alcohol and firearms. It's a deadly combination.
No, Delaware (while being an open carry state) does not recognize constitutional carry. Meaning you must have a permit to conceal carry a firearm.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Delaware gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is nothing in Delaware gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does not state you need to carry a permit/license either. However, we always recommend that you carry the permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
Delaware Concealed Carry Laws
Delaware Open Carry Laws
Delaware Gun Permit Laws