South Carolina

South Carolina state seal
South Carolina state flag

South Carolina is a “Shall Issue” state based on local law. Residents and Non-Residents are allowed to obtain conceal carry permits, as long as non-residents own property in the state.

Military personal are exempted, and applicants must be 21, have 20/40 vision, and have completed a training course. Non-resident permits are not honored from different states.

South Carolina

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years old.
  • You have completed an approved firearms training class.
  • Reside in South Carolina, or if a resident of another state submit proof you own property in South Carolina.
  • You have not been convicted of a violent crime that is a felony.
  • You must have actual or corrected vision of 20/40.
  • Are not a person who, by order of a circuit judge or county court judge of South Carolina, has been adjudged unfit to carry or possess a firearm.
  • Federal Law Requirements

APPLICATION

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;

    1. Complete your firearm training course if required.
    2. Download the application form.
    3. You will need the following documents;
      • Photocopy of drivers license or state ID card.
      • Real property tax form R168 – for non-resident applicants.
      • Application form signed by by you and firearms instructor.
      • Two complete fingerprint cards.
      • Applicants must include a non-refundable payment of $50.00 (certified check, cashier’s check, or money order) made payable to SLED.
      • You must submit a signed copy of the SLED CWP Instructor/Student Checklist with your application
      • CWP training courses must have been completed within three years of filing the application.
      • Active duty military applicants must submit military orders. Retired or former military applicants must submit a copy of their DD214.
    4. Mail all this information to;

CWP Application,
SLED Data Center,
PO Box 21398,
Columbia, SC 29221-1398

  1. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

Non-Residents
The only way a non-resident can obtain a South Carolina CWP permit is if they own property in the state. You will need to download the property tax form and then have this signed by an Assessor to verify you own the property. Then you can just follow the normal application process for residents.

RENEWALS

SLED has stated it is currently taking about 65 days to process renewals.

  • Renewal applications are mailed out 90 – 120 days before permits expire.
  • You will need to submit a photocopy of your state drivers license or ID card.
  • Non-residents will need to send in a property tax form.
  • Resident aliens will need to submit a copy of their alien card.

Online Renewals 
Online renewals are available if you meet the following conditions;

  1. The renewal application is made within 89 days of the permits expiry date.
  2. Your application is not more that 60 days past the expiry date.
  3. There have been no changes to the information on your permit since your last application.

If there have been any changes to your information such as address, phone number, name, then you must submit a paper application. The renewal application can be downloaded from the forms section on this page and once completed mailed to;

SLED
PO Box 21398
Columbia, SC29221
Attn: CJIS Dissemination

Don’t forget to enclose a money order, cashiers check or certified check  for $50 and payable to SLED.

FEES

Application Type Original Renewal
CWP Permit $50 $50

Accepted forms of payment
Certified check, Cashiers check, Money order – payable to SLED

South Carolina

South Carolina

South Carolina

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

South Carolina

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

South Carolina

    South Carolina

    South Carolina

    South Carolina

    Places Allowed

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state – except those listed as Off-Limits

    Places Not Allowed

    • Law enforcement office or facility.
    • Detention or correctional facility.
    • Courthouse or courtroom.
    • Polling place on election days.
    • Any publicly owned building or property without permission from persons in charge.
    • State Capitol building or grounds. CWP permit holders can leave their firearm locked in a vehicle.
    • Office of or the business meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special purpose district.
    • School or college athletic event not related to firearms.
    • Daycare or preschool facility.
    • Place where federal law prohibits the carrying of firearms.
    • Church or other established religious sanctuary.
    • Hospital, doctors office, medical clinic or any building medical services are performed in. Unless given permission by employer.
    • Place clearly marked with a sign prohibiting the carrying of a concealable weapon on the premises.
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

    South Carolina

    No
    NO – WITH OR WITHOUT A PERMIT Open carrying a handgun in South Carolina is illegal. Even if you have a concealed carry permit you still cannot legally open carry in this state.
    Yes
    YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT If you do not have a CCW permit but can legally own a firearm then you are legally entitled to carry the firearm loaded in a vehicle as long as it is placed in a closed glove box, console or trunk of vehicle. If there is no trunk then the firearm can be placed in the luggage area enclosed in a container and secured with fasteners. If the firearm is found in any other place such as in a purse, under the seat, on the seat, you will be charged. The law is very specific on where the firearm is placed. With a permit from South Carolina or other recognized state, you can carry a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle on or about your person. The Law 16.23.20 – Exceptions to unlawful carry 21.31.230 – Carry between vehicle & accomodation
    Yes
    YES It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: YES – 51.3.145 State/National Forests: YES – 51.3.145 State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – 123.203 Road Side Rest Areas: YES – 16.23.420
    Yes
    YES You can carry a firearm into a restaurant if you have a CCW permit, but you are not allowed to consume alcohol. If the restaurant has posted a “No Weapons” sign then it is illegal to enter. “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. The Law 16.23.465
    No
    NO South Carolina does not have constitutional carry.
    Yes
    YES South Carolina gun laws give the force of law to“No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
    Yes
    YES – MUST INFORM OFFICER South Carolina gun laws require you to inform a law enforcement officer you are carrying a firearm when approached on official business. You are also legally required to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun. The Law 23.31.215 – Issuance of permits

    South Carolina

    Quick Facts

    Open Carry

    No

    Carry In Vehicle

    Yes

    Carry In State Parks

    Yes

    Carry In Restaurants

    Yes

    Constitutional Carry

    No

    No Weapons Signs Enforced

    Yes

    Must Notify Officer

    Yes
    Quick Links