Massachusetts is another “May Issue” state. “LTC” or license to carry can be issued to residents and non-residents. If you’re a non-residents you must apply for a temporary permit before traveling to Massachusetts. Applicants need to be 21 and pass a firearms training course to apply. A LTC is required to purchase ammunition and firearms. Applications can be filed at local police stations. If you’re a non-resident, you must apply through the State Police.
Massachusetts Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Massachusetts is not considered a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Technically, Massachusetts allows for open carry based on their statutes. However, we recommend being very careful with open carrying in this state as there have been news coverage of municipalities within Massachusetts that have charged residents with menacing or other charges to revoke the permit of those who were open carrying.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Massachusetts allows for individuals to carry concealed so long as they have the LTC permit and the firearm is on your person. However, there is also language that makes it illegal to transport a firearm in a vehicle without a permit.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Massachusetts allows for concealed carry within state parks with the LTC permit.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - We were not able to find any code making it illegal for residents with a LTC permit to carry within a restaurant or bar. You must not be intoxicated at all and the bar cannot have a sign posted preventing firearms.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were not able to find any specific law giving the no weapon sign the force of law behind it. However, if a location is already written into Massachusetts code as being off-limits then you must respect this.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - We were not able to find any law requiring duty to inform within Massachusetts. If you're approached and asked, you must provide your permit along with a valid ID though.
States Honoring CCW
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
Unfortunately Massachusetts does NOT honor any other states CCW. If you're a resident you will need to get a license from the state.
Reciprocity Agreements In Massachusetts
Massachusetts: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Places Not Allowed
- Elementary or secondary school, college or university
- Logan Airport security zone
- When using off highway vehicle such as snowmobile
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Massachusetts: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, if you do not have a permit/license then you cannot open carry. There are no laws that prevent a permit/license holder carrying a concealed firearm openly. I would be very cautious though, you will definitely attract attention from law enforcement and could end up a test case.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, if you do not have a permit you cannot carry a loaded firearm inside any vehicle. Unlawfully carrying a firearm in a vehicle, or in one’s possession outside one’s residence or place of business, without the required license or card, subjects a person to a mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year in jail, or 2 1/2 years in prison. A permit/license holder can transport a loaded or unloaded handgun on his person or in a motor vehicle if the handgun is under their direct control.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, you are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas. State wildlife sanctuaries are off-limits.
Carry In Restaurants
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
No, Massachusetts is not a constitutional carry state.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Massachusetts gun laws. There are no legal penalties for lawfully entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is nothing in Massachusetts gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require you to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.