Arizona gun laws are incredibly permissive and operate on the state level. Any 18 year old can open carry, and anyone over 21 can conceal carry without a permit. Fun Fact: Arizona followed Alaska to allow “Constitutional Carry” laws.
So you’re aware, Arizona is still a “Shall Issue” policy for reciprocity reasons. One of the requirements to obtain a permit is passing a safety course, which is required for residents and non-residents.
Arizona Gun Laws Quick Facts
✅ Yes - As of 2010 Arizona is a constitutional carry state which allows any person of legal age (18 years old) to open carry a firearm without a permit or license. You must be at least 21 years old to conceal carry a firearm without a permit.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Arizona is a permit-less carry state. Any individual at least 18 years old and who can legally own a firearm is allowed to open carry.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - There are 2 rules to follow here. If you're over the age of 21 you can concealed carry a firearm in your vehicle. If you're under the age of 21 you must have your firearm viewable for anyone outside the vehicle.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - you can conceal carry in state and national parks, however you cannot carry your firearm into any public state buildings on the park grounds.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ ❌ Yes/No - There's conflicting guidance on this topic for residents. One law ARS 4-229(A) mentions that no CCW permit is needed to conceal carry in an establishment that serves alcohol. However, a different law 4-244(29) mentions that concealed carry is permitted so long as the building doesn't have a no weapons sign and you do not consume alcohol. In this scenario, it's best to be very cautious and go with the later law for greater protection. You shouldn't be drinking and carrying your firearm anyways.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
✅ Yes - No weapons signs have the right of law. Meaning if you're caught carrying a weapon into a public building, or public event, you can be asked to remove your weapon and you can be convicted of a weapons misconduct misdemeanor.
Must Notify Officer?
✅ ❌ Yes/No - Technically there's no duty to inform law present in the code, however there is mention that if an officer asks you must notify the officer you're carrying a firearm.
States Honoring Arizona CCW
States Honoring Arizona CCW with Restrictions
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
Arizona will honor all other states concealed carry permits. There is one exception with the Idaho permit as stated in the notes below. A person must be at least 21 years old to carry a concealed firearm in Arizona.
Reciprocity Agreements In Arizona
Arizona currently has signed reciprocity agreements with eight other states. These states are:
Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia.
A full list of reciprocity agreements can be viewed on the state website.
Arizona: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- You can take a firearm onto school property if you follow the procedure below;
You are an adult in a vehicle and the firearm is unloaded before entering school grounds. Furthermore, if you must exit your vehicle, the firearm must remain unloaded and be secured (locked) within the vehicle, out of plain view.
- All areas of the state – except those listed as Off-Limits.
Places Not Allowed
- Liquor retailer who has posted a sign prohibiting weapons
- The grounds of any school
- Polling places on election day
- Correctional facilities
- Nuclear or hydroelectric generating stations.
- Any establishment or event open to the public where the operator makes a reasonable request for you to give them custody or remove the weapon from the premises. A sign would qualify for such request. By law, cities and counties are required to offer on-site storage if they ban weapons but not all are in compliance
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Arizona: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, at 18 you’re legally permitted to open carry.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, there are 2 rules to follow here. If you're over the age of 21 you can concealed carry a firearm in your vehicle. If you're under the age of 21 you must have your firearm viewable for anyone outside the vehicle.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, it is legal to carry in the following areas;
- State Parks: YES
- State/National Forests: YES
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES
The Law ARS 17.305 – Wildlife Management Areas
Remember though, you cannot carry your firearm into public buildings on the state or national park grounds.
Carry In Restaurants
Yes, there's conflicting guidance on this topic for residents. One law ARS 4-229(A) mentions that no CCW permit is needed to conceal carry in an establishment that serves alcohol. However, a different law 4-244(29) mentions that concealed carry is permitted so long as the building doesn't have a no weapons sign and you do not consume alcohol. In this scenario, it's best to be very cautious and go with the later law for greater protection. You shouldn't be drinking and carrying your firearm anyways.
Yes, Arizona is one of the growing number of states allowing Constitutional Carry were you’re not required to have a permit to carry a concealed firearm if you’re 21 or older. You must be 18 to open carry.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
Yes, “No Weapons” has the force of law in Arizona. You will face legal penalties for not following the signage. The Law 4.229 – Posting Notices
Must Notify Officer
No, there’s no explicit law requiring you to notify a Law Enforcement Officer of a firearm if stopped on official business, however if you get asked you must give the honest answer. The Law ARS 13.3102 – Misconduct with Weapons ARS 13.3112 – Carrying Permit