Maryland

maryland-state-seal
maryland-state-flag

Maryland operates as a “May Issue” state which means you’re required to show good cause for owning a handgun, and you must provide documentation to give background details for your case. Some reasons included working for a security firm or safe-guarding a business.”May Issue” policy makes obtaining a handgun permit in Maryland difficult but not impossible. Marylands constitution has no provision to protect the right of individuals to bear or keep firearms.

Maryland

Requirements to qualify for a Maryland handgun permit

  • Must be at least 21 years old.
  • Has not been convicted of a felony or of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year.
  • Has not been committed within the previous 10 years to any juvenile detention center for longer than one year.
  • Is not an addict or alcoholic nor has ever been convicted of an offense that involves the possession or distribution of a controlled substance.
  • Has not, based on the results of investigation, exhibited a propensity for violence or instability.
  • Must show good cause as to why you need a firearm.
  • Has completed a firearms training course.
  • Federal Law - Prohibits the following persons 

How to apply for a Maryland handgun permit

Follow these steps to obtain a permit;

    1. Complete your firearm training course, 16 hours of training is required for new applications.
    2. Have your finger prints taken at a Maryland fingerprint processing center (instructions on form).
    3. Applications are now only accepted on a PDF form which can be downloaded from our forms section. Only version 12/2012 is accepted.
    4. Once you have filled out the PDF application form print it out.
    5. You will the need to mail it with the following documents to the address below;
      • Completed application form
      • Copies of firearms training certificate
      • Passport size color photo, taken within last 30 days
      • A money order or cashiers check for $75
    6. Mail to this address;Maryland State Police,
      Licensing Division,
      1111 Reisterstown Road,
      Pikesville, MD 21208
      ATTN: Handgun Permit Unit
  1. You will be notified within 90 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.

How to renew your Maryland handgun permit

  • A new or initial permit will expire 2 years after it was issued in the month the holder was born.
  • Permits that have been renewed are valid for 3 years.
  • Renewal applicants will need to complete a 8 hour firearms training course within 2 years after filing their renewal application.
  • Renewal reminders are not sent out by the licensing division, it is up to the permit holder to take note of the expiration date on their permit and begin any renewal process.
  • Permits can be renewed within 90 days before the expiration date.
  • According to the MD Police website if a permit is past it's expiration date then a late fee of $5 per day will be charged. There is a maximum limit of $150 for late fee's. However, this conflicts with the info below, also from the MD Police.
  • If the permit has not been renewed by the expiration date then you will need to make an application for a new permit.

Schedule of fee's for a Maryland handgun permit

Application Conditions Original Renewal
Individual $75 $50
Active/Retired law enforcement officer from Maryland $0
Duplicate/Modification $10
Late renewal fee $5 per day, maximum of $150

Maryland

Maryland

Maryland

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Maryland

    Maryland

      Maryland

      Maryland

      Maryland

      Places Allowed

      Allowed

      • State game management areas
      • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

      Places Not Allowed

      Off-limits

      • Any property belong to a Public School. The law just says “Public School” but does not indicate what type of public school.
      • Demonstration – you cannot be within 1000 feet of the demonstration
      • In legislative buildings
      • On any aircraft
      • In a lodging establishment.
      • Dredge boats unless it is a 10 gauge shotgun
      • Around or inside any public buildings or grounds owned by the state.
      • Chesapeake Forest Lands
      • In any State Forests
      • In State Parks
      • Any highway rest area owned by the state, unless the weapon is properly secured within the vehicle.
      • Adult rehabilitation centers
      • Child care centers, unless it is a small center inside a residence.
      • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

      Maryland

      No
      NO You will need a permit to carry a handgun either concealed or openly. Although open carry is technically legal it is not advisable in this state. You would most certainly be stopped by the police and your actions could be used as a reason to revoke your permit. The only people who openly carry in Maryland are the police or security guards.
      No
      NO Without a permit to carry it is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle. If you have a permit to carry then there are no restrictions on carrying a loaded firearm in a vehicle. 4-203 Transporting handgun
      No
      NO It is illegal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: NO – Admin code 08.07.06.04 State/National Forests: NO – Admin code 08.07.01.04 State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – Nat. Res. code 10.4 Sec. 4.10.408(d) Road Side Rest Areas: NO – Admin code 11.04.07.12
      Yes
      YES “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
      No
      NO Maryland does not have constitutional carry.
      No
      NO We have not found any laws giving gun signs the force of law. However, we advise everyone to abide by any gun sign they encounter whether they are lawful or not.
      No
      NO There is no law in Maryland that states you must inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm. However, there is a law that states you must have a valid carry permit in your possession if you carry, transport or wear a handgun. You would need to present the permit if asked by a law enforcement officer. Sec. 5-308 Possession of permit.

      Maryland

      Quick Facts

      Open Carry

      No

      Carry In Vehicle

      No

      Carry In State Parks

      No

      Carry In Restaurants

      Yes

      Constitutional Carry

      No

      No Weapons Signs Enforced

      No

      Must Notify Officer

      No
      Quick Links