Tennessee

Tennessee state seal
Tennessee state flag

Tennessee is a “Shall Issue” state and it’s considered a gun friendly state where there’s no requirement for purchase approval of firearms. You can submit an application for a conceal carry permit online or at a driver service center, which are processed by the Department of Safety.

If you’re a non-resident you can only obtain a conceal carry if you work in the state regularly.

New applicants must complete an 8 hour training course, with exemptions for military personal.

Tennessee

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • You have completed an approved firearms safety course within last 12 months
  • Resident of the state of Tennessee
  • You are a US citizen or have permanent residency
  • Shall not be receiving social security disability benefits by reason of alcohol dependence, drug dependence or mental disability
  • Shall not have been convicted of the offense of stalking
  • Shall not be an unlawful user of or addicted to alcohol or any controlled substance and the applicant has not been a patient in a rehabilitation program or hospitalized for alcohol or controlled substance abuse or addiction within ten (10) years from the date of application.
  • The applicant has not been convicted of the offense of driving under the influence of an intoxicant in this or any other State two (2) or more times within ten (10) years from the date of application and that none of such convictions has occurred within five (5) years from the date of application or renewal.
  • Shall not have been adjudicated as mental defective; has not been committed to or hospitalized in a mental institution; has not had a court appoint a conservator for the applicant by reason of a mental defect; has not been judicially determined to be disabled by reason of a mental illness, development disability or other mental incapacity; and has not, within seven (7) years from the date of application, been found by a court to pose an immediate substantial likelihood of serious harm because of mental illness.
  • Federal Law Requirements

APPLICATIONS

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;

  1. Complete your firearm training course if required.
  2. Complete an online application or,
  3. Visit a Driver Services Center.
  4. You will need the following documents;
    • Proof of US citizenship or residency
    • Photo ID – driver license, state ID card
    • Training course certificate
  5. File an application at any Driver Services Center.
  6. When your application is processed at the Driver Service Center, you will be given instructions on being fingerprinted.
  7. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

RENEWALS

  • Handgun Permits can be renewed within 6 months before the expiry date.
  • Permits can be renewed up to one cycle past the expiry date.
  • A new application will need to be made if more than 8 years has elapsed since the expiry date.
  • Permits can be renewed at any full Driver Service Center or by mail.
  • Paper renewal application forms can be obtained by calling 615 251-8590

Mailing Address
Tennessee Department of Safety
Handgun Permit Office
P.O. Box 23710
Nashville, TN 37202

FEE’S

Application Type Original Renewal
Standard 8 year $100 $50
Military 8 year $68 $50
Standard lifetime $300
Military lifetime $268
Retired Law Enforcement Lifetime $100
Upgrade to Lifetime $200
Upgrade to Lifetime Military $200
Duplicates $5

Tennessee

Tennessee

Tennessee

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Tennessee

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Tennessee

  • Columbia
  • Guam
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

Tennessee

How Reciprocity Works in Tennessee

Tennessee honors all concealed carry permits from other states provided the person carrying a handgun has the permit in their possession whenever carrying a firearm.

Tennessee

Signed Reciprocity Agreements

Tennessee has signed reciprocity agreements with 19 other states. A full list of the states that have reciprocity agreements with Tennessee can be found on the government website.

Tennessee

Places Allowed

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state, except those listed as Off-Limits

There may still be old No Gun signs posted in parks. By law cities and counties are not allowed to post these signs in parks and if you have a permit you can legally carry in a park.

Places Not Allowed

  • Any playground, civic center or other building facility, area or property owned, used or operated by any municipal, county or state government for recreational purposes
  • Municipalities can ban carry in parks if there is a school event taking place in the park.
  • Any room in which judicial proceedings are in progress
  • Any public or private school building or bus
  • Any public or private school campus, grounds, recreation area or athletic field
  • Individual, business, or government meetings. Notice of such prohibition must be posted
  • While under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Airports
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

Tennessee

Yes
NO – WITHOUT A PERMIT Without permit – No With a Permit – Yes You can only open carry a handgun if you have a permit to carry a concealed firearm. Open carry is not common in cities and mainly used as a carry method in rural areas.
Yes
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT It is legal to carry a handgun openly or concealed in a vehicle that is privately owned, this includes boats and RVs. No permit is required and the firearm can be located anywhere in the vehicle but not on your person. The Law 39.17.1307 – Unlawful carrying
Yes
YES It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: YES State/National Forests: YES – 39.17.1311 (H) State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – 39.17.1311 (H) Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Yes
YES In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
No
Yes
YES Tennessee gun laws give the force of law to “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
No
NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER There is nothing in Tennessee gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require that you carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun and display it to an officer if he requests a person to do so. The Law 39.17.1351 – Handgun carry permits

Tennessee

Quick Facts

Open Carry

Yes

Carry In Vehicle

Yes

Carry In State Parks

Yes

Carry In Restaurants

Yes

Constitutional Carry

No

No Weapons Signs Enforced

Yes

Must Notify Officer

No
Quick Links

Get Started

  • Training
  • Gear
  • Reviews

Resources

Join The Movement

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Copyright 2020 Digital Marketing By Phillip Chambers