North Carolina

north carolina state seal
north carolina state flag

North Carolina is considered unrestrictive and operates on a “Shall Issue” basis.

There are limited restrictions for open carry, and there are no restrictions for magazine size or caliber.

You must be a resident of North Carolina, 21, and have completed a firearms training course to obtain a permit.

There are exceptions for military personal if they’re posted at the state.

A permit is required to purchase a firearm and applications are processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office.

North Carolina

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years old.
  • You have completed an approved firearms training class, (minimum 8 hours).
  • Be a resident of North Carolina for 30 days preceding the filing of the application.
  • Be a resident of the County application is filed in.
  • Be a United States citizen or lawful permanent resident alien.
  • Does not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun.
  • Has not been convicted of an impaired driving offense within three years prior to the date on which the application is submitted.
  • Has not had judgment continued for or free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a disqualifying criminal offense.
  • Is not currently or has not been adjudicated or administratively determined to be lacking mental capacity or mentally ill.
  • Federal Law Requirements

APPLICATION

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;

  1. Complete your firearm training course if required.
  2. Download the application from the forms section. Some counties offer an online application.
  3. You will need the following documents;
    • The original certificate of completion from a firearms course
    • Valid photographic identification and proof of residence (NC Driver’s License or ID card).
    • Military personnel must bring forms 1380E (active duty) or DD-214 (discharged).
    • Naturalized citizens must bring your Naturalization Certificate or a valid U.S. Passport
    • U.S. citizens born outside of the U.S.A. to U.S. parent(s) must bring your documentation from the Department of State (Consular Report of Birth Abroad, Certificate of Citizenship, or Certification of Report of Birth)
    • Lawful permanent resident aliens must bring a valid US Permanent Resident Card.
  4. Take the application to your local Sheriffs office and complete under oath.
  5. The Sheriff will take two sets of fingerprints.
  6. Sign a release authorizing disclosure to the Sheriff of any records relating to your mental health.
  7. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

A NICS background check is required for all new applications and renewals.

Non-Residents
North Carolina does not issue concealed carry permits to non-residents.

RENEWALS

  • Concealed Handgun Permits must be renewed within 90 days before the expiry date but not before.
  • If the permit has expired but for not more than 60 days you will need to apply for a new permit, however there is no training course required.
  • If the permit has expired for more than 60 days you will be required to complete a training course and make a new application.

All renewal applications require a NICS background check.

FEES

Application Type Original Renewal
Individual $80 varies by county $75
Duplicate $15

Accepted forms of payment
Accepted forms of payment are Certified check, Cashiers check, or Money order.

NOTE
An additional fee of $10 may be charged for processing your fingerprints. Fees vary between counties.

North Carolina

North Carolina

North Carolina

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

North Carolina

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

North Carolina

  • Columbia
  • Guam
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

North Carolina

North Carolina will honor concealed carry permits that have been issued in any other state. There are 38 states that will honor a North Carolina permit, 6 of these states will only honor the residential permit.

North Carolina

North Carolina has signed reciprocity agreements with 36 other states. An official list of these states can be seen at the Attorney Generals website.

North Carolina

Places Allowed

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • Parade (with permit)
  • Funeral (with permit)
  • School campus (with permit) – must remain locked in vehicle, cannot be carried on school grounds.
  • All areas of the state – except those listed as Off-Limits

Places Not Allowed

  • Law enforcement office or facility
  • Detention or correctional facility
  • A building or part of building housing in which there are state offices.
  • Any public or private school building or bus, campus, grounds, recreation area, athletic fields or other property used or owned by an educational institution.
  • Schools, public or private, all levels including universities. Gun can remain locked in vehicle, if you have a permit.
  • A curricular or extracurricular activity sponsored by a school
  • Any places of assemblies such as a picket line, demonstration, parade or funeral procession. Carry at a parade or funeral is now allowed if you have a permit.
  • On any private premises where notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited
  • State Capitol Building, the Executive Mansion, the Western Residence of the Governor, or on the grounds of any of these buildings
  • Any place alcohol beverages are consumed or sold, – applies to restaurants if posted.
  • Any person consuming alcohol or under the influence of controlled substances or alcohol.
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

North Carolina

Yes
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT Open carry is legal in North Carolina. You may not carry in places listed as Off-Limit areas and local governments can place limited restrictions on open carry in some locations. The Law 160A-189 – Firearms 153A-129 – Firearms
Yes
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT A person without a CCW permit can carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle if it is not concealed and visible, and they have no felony convictions. The current definition of concealed is if the handgun cannot be readily seen by a person approaching and the gun is readily accessible. A handgun under the front seat or in an unlocked glove box or console is illegal. A handgun openly displayed or in a locked glove box, locked console, or in the trunk is lawful. If you have a permit from North Carolina you may carry a loaded concealed handgun within a vehicle.
Yes
YES It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks: YES – 14-415.11(c1) (Concealed handguns only) State/National Forests: YES State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – 14-415.11(c3) Road Side Rest Areas: YES – 14-415.11(c3)
Yes
YES If the restaurant is not posted with a “No Weapons” sign then it is OK to enter. “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol. The Law 14-269.3
No
NO North Carolina does not have constitutional carry yet. In 2017 a bill to introduce permit-less carry passed the lower stages of the house so we are still waiting to see if it actually becomes law.
Yes
YES North Carolina gun laws give “No Weapons” signs the force of law. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
Yes
YES – MUST INFORM OFFICER North Carolina gun laws state that you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are required to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun. The Law 14-415.21

North Carolina

Quick Facts

Open Carry

Yes

Carry In Vehicle

Yes

Carry In State Parks

Yes

Carry In Restaurants

Yes

Constitutional Carry

No

No Weapons Signs Enforced

Yes

Must Notify Officer

Yes
Quick Links