Pennsylvania is a “Shall Issue” state and there’s no requirement for a permit if you’re carrying a firearm in your residence or business.
Concealed carry permits are available to non-residents and residents, but you must be 21.
Non-residents are required to have a permit to carry in their home state if they want to obtain a Pennsylvania permit. There are no training requirements to obtain a permit.
Pennsylvania Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Pennsylvania is not recognized as a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Pennsylvania allows for any individual 18 years or older who are legally allowed to own a firearm to open carry without a license. Except for when traveling in a vehicle (see below) or in Philadelphia.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Pennsylvania allows for individuals to concealed carry, so long as you have the LCF permit or a permit from a reciprocal state.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Pennsylvania allows for concealed carry within state parks if you have an LCF or a reciprocal permit.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - We were unable to find any code making it illegal to concealed carry into a restaurant or bar so long as you have the Pennsylvania LCF or a permit from a reciprocal state.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were unable to find code specifically mentioning no weapons signs as having the force of law.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - We could not find any specific duty to inform law within Pennsylvania code. However, if asked by an LEO you must provide a truthful answer.
Pennsylvania CCW Reciprocity List
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with Pennsylvania
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
How Reciprocity Works In Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania has reciprocity agreements with 19 states. All these reciprocity agreements can be read at the attorney generals website. Non-resident CCW licenses are honored from the states on Pennsylvania’s reciprocity list with the exception of those from Arizona, Florida, Mississippi, Utah and Virginia. There is actually a section in each of the prior states agreements that says”legal resident of AZ, FL, MS, UT and VA”.
Pennsylvania will only honor the ND class 1 permit from North Dakota provided the holder is at least 21 years old.
Pennsylvania: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Places Not Allowed
- Philadelphia city parks
- City of Philadelphia-owned buildings
- Court Houses (Areas Off Limits Must Be Posted)
- Elementary and Secondary Education Schools
- Detention facilities and correctional institutions
- School bus
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Pennsylvania: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carry is legal without a permit if a person is 18 or older and legally allowed to possess a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, any person who carries a firearm concealed on or about his person except in his place of abode or fixed place of business without a valid CCW license commits a felony of the third degree.
There are exceptions listed on the state website. Also, Federal law allows transportation of a firearm if it is unloaded and neither the firearm or ammunition is readily accessible. With a license you can carry a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle.
The Law Title 18 – 6106
Carry In State Parks
Yes, it is legal to carry in the following areas:
- State Parks: YES
- State/National Forests: YES
- State Game Management Units: YES
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Carry In Restaurants
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
No, Pennsylvania is not a constitutional carry state.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Pennsylvania gun laws. There are no legal penalties for lawfully entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is nothing in Pennsylvania gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are legally required to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
The Law Title 18 – 6122
Pennsylvania Concealed Carry Laws
Pennsylvania Open Carry Laws
Pennsylvania Gun Permit Laws