South Dakota

South Dakota state seal
South Dakota state flag

South Dakota only allows conceal carry permits for residents of the state. Military have exemptions though.

You must be 18 to obtain one of the 3 permits available:

  • Regular
  • Gold
  • Enhanced

You can obtain the Enhanced permit if you wish to have more reciprocity agreements, but this requires a training course to be completed. When the application is submitted the Sheriff will issue a temporary permit until the final one is sent via mail.

South Dakota

  • Is eighteen years of age or older.
  • Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of a felony or a crime of violence.
  • Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition.
  • Has no history of violence.
  • Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a "danger to others" or a "danger to self" or is not currently adjudged mentally incompetent.
  • Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where the application is being made for at least thirty days.
  • Has had no violations of firearms control, unlawful use of weapons, or controlled substances; marijuana, constituting a felony or misdemeanor in the preceding five years.
  • Is a citizen of the United States or legal resident alien.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. Determine which permit you want, there are three available – Regular, Gold, Enhanced.
  2. Complete a training course if you want the Enhanced permit.
  3. You must complete a temporary application in person at your local Sheriffs office.
  4. The Sheriff will issue a temporary permit within 5 days.
  5. A full permit will be issued within 30 days.

Regular Permits: $10
Renewal: $10

Gold card Permit $70
Renewal: $70

Enhanced Permit $100
Renewal: $50 (if 30 days after expiration fee is $100)

NOTE
Additional fingerprinting fee of $43.25 for Gold card and Enhanced permits.

South Dakota

South Dakota

South Dakota

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

South Dakota

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

South Dakota

  • Columbia
  • Guam
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

South Dakota

South Dakota

South Dakota

Places Allowed

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed below 

Places Not Allowed

  • An establishment licensed to serve alcoholic beverages on the premises if the establishment derives more than 50% of its sales from alcoholic beverages
  • A county courthouse
  • An elementary or secondary school premises, including school vehicles or buildings
  • A snowmobile, unless firearm is unloaded and entirely enclosed in a carrying case
  • A game preserve or refuge
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

South Dakota

Yes
YES – Without a Permit/License Open carry is legal in South Dakota.
Yes
YES – Without a Permit/License If you do not have a permit you can carry an unloaded handgun in the trunk or other closed compartment of a vehicle if it is in a container, which is too large to be concealed on a person. The Attorney General in 2004 wrote an opinion in which he says it is OK to carry a handgun in a vehicle if it is not concealed and visible. Only a permit holder can carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle.
Yes
YES You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas
Yes
YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
No
No
NO “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in South Dakota gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
No
NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law South Dakota gun laws do not say you must inform law enforcement that you are carrying a firearm. You are legally required to carry a permit/license whenever you have a firearm on your person.

South Dakota

Quick Facts

Open Carry

Yes

Carry In Vehicle

Yes

Carry In State Parks

Yes

Carry In Restaurants

Yes

Constitutional Carry

No

No Weapons Signs Enforced

No

Must Notify Officer

No
Quick Links

Get Started

  • Training
  • Gear
  • Reviews

Resources

Join The Movement

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Copyright 2020 Digital Marketing By Phillip Chambers