Minnesota is considered a "shall-issue" state in regard to concealed carry permits. These permits are issued from the applicant's local sheriff's office.
Two Options For Purchasing Firearms In Minnesota:
1) Private Individual
If you purchase a firearm from a private individual, you will not need to have a firearm permit. You will not need a background check or will you be required to register the firearm or handgun.
2) Federal Firearm Dealer
If you purchase from a federal firearm dealer, you will be subject to a background check. Although it's no required to have a permit nor will you need to register the firearm.
You are allowed to open carry in Minnesota if you're a legal resident or resident of a state that Minnesota honors.
Concealed carry within Minnesota is legal if you have a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol, or a recognized permit from a state Minnesota honors. You must be at least 21 years old and have completed a firearms training course to receive the PCP. There are both resident and non-resident permits available. If you're a non-resident you can apply to any sheriff's office within the state.
Minnesota will only honor permits from states who honor the Minnesota PCP.
Minnesota Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Minnesota is not considered a constitutional carry state.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Minnesota allows for open carry so long as you have a Minnesota permit, or a permit from a reciprocal state.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Minnesota allows for concealed carry within a vehicle so long as you have a Minnesota permit or a permit from a reciprocal state. If you do not have a permit then you must transport the firearm unloaded and in a closed carrying case.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Minnesota allows for carrying in state park so long as you have the Minnesota permit or one from a reciprocal state. If you don't have a permit then Minnesota has specific rules stating you must unloaded your firearm if your within 200 feet of any public use location within the park. (i.e. trailhead, campground, beach, parking lot, etc). There are certain locations you cannot carry firearms within Minnesota parks, read below to find out.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - We were not able to find any code making it illegal to concealed carry (with the proper permit) in a restaurant or bar unless specifically posted. However, you cannot be under the influence to carry.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
✅ Yes - Technically there is language within the Minnesota code that makes it a misdemeanor if the establishment requests you do not bring in firearms, and you do so.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - We were not able to find any specific law regarding duty to inform in Minnesota.
Minnesota CCW Reciprocity List
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with Minnesota
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
How Reciprocity Works In Minnesota
Any individual who has a permit to conceal carry in another reciprocal U.S. state is legally allowed to carry a firearm in Minnesota. During their time in Minnesota, they will be subject to the laws of the county and state.
Reciprocity Agreements In Minnesota
Minnesota: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Places Not Allowed
- Public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and grounds
- A child care center while children are present
- School bus
- Portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a public or private school where signs are posted.
- Public colleges and universities – may have policy restricting the carrying of weapons on their premises by employees and students while on campus
- Private establishments that have posted a sign banning guns on their premises
- Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by is employees
- State correctional facilities
- State hospitals and grounds
- Any jail, lockup or correctional facility
- Courthouse complexes
- Churches and parking area if posted
- Offices and courtrooms of the Minnesota Supreme Court and Court of Appeals
- Any state building
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Minnesota: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carry is legal in Minnesota if you have a license to carry.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes/No. It is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle without a permit/license. You can still carry a firearm in a vehicle provided the firearm is unloaded and stored in a locked container. These restrictions do not apply if you have a concealed carry permit/license.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, you are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
Carry In Restaurants
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
Yes, there are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. Although there is argument that they have no force of law due to an Appeals Court ruling (A07-131) recently. We recommend you respect the property owners wishes though.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is nothing in Minnesota gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require you to carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
Minnesota Concealed Carry Laws
Minnesota Open Carry Laws
Minnesota Gun Permit Laws