Louisiana operates their gun laws with a “Shall Issue” policy.
Residents of Louisiana are the only individuals who can receive a conceal carry license, while non-resident permits are not available.
Applicants must be at least a resident, 21 years or older, and have completed a firearms training course. Permit applications are processed at the state level by the Department of Public Safety.
There are two types of permits, a five year and lifetime permit. Honorably discharged veterans of the military can obtain a permit for free if they meet the criteria.
Louisiana Gun Laws Quick Facts
❌ No - Technically Louisiana does have some constitutional carry language after August 1st, 2022. However, this is only for those who are active duty or veterans of the military. Anyone outside these criteria do not "qualify" for constitutional carry.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - Louisiana allows for open carry for residents without a permit so long as they're 18 years or older and legally allowed to own and possess a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - We had a difficult time finding specific legislation which stated the transportation of firearms in a vehicle, however we did find an opinion written by the police stating that individuals may carry a handgun in a vehicle as the vehicle is viewed as the individuals property.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - Louisiana allows for concealed in state parks so long as the individual has a concealed carry permit, or one in a state that Louisiana has a reciprocal relationship with.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ ❌ Yes/No - Restaurants that do not sell alcohol are okay for concealed carry. However, you may not carry a firearm into any establishment that primarily sells alcohol or into the bar areas of restaurants. Additionally, any establishment with a no weapons sign must be respected.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - We were not able to find specific language around No Weapons signs, except for the code related to restaurants or establishments that sell alcohol.
Must Notify Officer?
✅ Yes - Louisiana is a duty to inform state where you must notify the officer you're carrying a firearm on you upon first interaction with them.
States Honoring CCW
* Restricted Reciprocity with Louisiana
States NOT Honoring CCW
Honors These States CCW Permits
Reciprocity Agreements In Louisiana
Louisiana: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Places Not Allowed
- A law enforcement office, station, or building.
- A detention facility, prison, or jail.
- A courthouse or courtroom, provided that a judge may carry such a weapon in his own courtroom.
- A polling place.
- A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision.
- The state capitol building.
- Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms is prohibited under federal law, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, if the firearm is encased for shipment, for the purpose of checking such firearm as lawful baggage.
- Any church, synagogue, mosque or similar place of worship.
- A parade or demonstration for which a permit is issued by a governmental entity.
- Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises. Restaurants are OK but you can’t carry in the bar area of a restaurant.
- Any school firearm free zone (within 1000ft of a school or on a school bus).
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Louisiana: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, open carry is legal without a permit/license if you are at least 18 years old as required by federal law. State law has set a lower age but federal law overrides this.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, the law does not prohibit the carrying of handguns in vehicles without a permit/license.
Carry In State Parks
Yes, you are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
Carry In Restaurants
Yes/No, restaurants that do not sell alcohol are okay for concealed carry. However, you may not carry a firearm into any establishment that primarily sells alcohol or into the bar areas of restaurants. Additionally, any establishment with a no weapons sign must be respected.
No. On August 1st, 2022, Louisiana did pass a bill that could be considered constitutional carry. However, this is only for those who are active duty or veterans of the military. Anyone outside these criteria do not "qualify" for constitutional carry.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in the code from our research.
Must Notify Officer
Yes, Louisiana gun laws state that you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You must also carry a permit at all times when you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun.