Sweet Home Alabama!
Like most southern states Alabama has some of the most “classically” liberal laws concerning concealed carry. Alabama is unique in that it allows the counties of the state to issue concealed carry permits.
Applications need to be made at your local Sheriff’s office where your residence resides, and you must be 19 years or older to qualify. However, if you or your spouse are 18, in the military, and stationed in Alabama, the county sheriff may issue you a permit too.
Good news is there’s no firearm training requirement but, it does takes 30 days from your submission of the firearm application to either be denied or granted. I wouldn't sweat it though because the application is easy and not at all time consuming.
In more good news, Alabama passed a new bill HB272 which now allows any law abiding resident of Alabama or U.S. citizen (who is over the age of 19) to legally carry a concealed pistol in the state without a permit. This bill went to effect on January 1st of 2023.
Alabama Gun Laws Quick Facts
✅ Yes - On March 10, 2022, Alabama passed the bill HB 272 which made it a constitutional carry state on Jan 1, 2023.
Open Carry Permitted?
✅ Yes - without a permit necessary. So long as you're 19 years of age and federally legal to own a firearm, you can open carry within Alabama.
Carry In Vehicle?
✅ Yes - Alabama no longer requires a permit to carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle as of Jan 1, 2023.
Carry In State Park?
✅ Yes - as long as you have prior approval from the park management.
Carry In Restaurants?
✅ Yes - there are no statutes prohibiting firearms in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol, with or without a permit.
No Weapon Sign Enforced?
❌ No - there's no clear indication of this in their code.
Must Notify Officer?
❌ No - you are not required to inform a police officer you are carrying a firearm in your vehicle or on your person unless you are specifically asked.
These States Honor Alabama's CCW
These States Do NOT Honor Alabama's CCW
Alabama Honors These States CCW Permits
Section 13A-11-85 makes the following statement:
"A person licensed to carry a handgun in any state shall be authorized to carry a handgun in this state. This section shall apply to a license holder from another state only while the license holder is not a resident of this state. A license holder from another state shall carry the handgun in compliance with the laws of this state."
This means Alabama honors all other states concealed carry permit as valid in the state of Alabama, so long as you handle your firearm within the regulations of Alabama's code.
The following states are honored within Alabama:
* restrictions apply
Alabama has written into its law to permit all forms of conceal carry from other states. The law providing this information comes from section 13A-11-85 of the Alabama Code.
However, now that Alabama is a constitutional carry state, any U.S citizen can conceal carry in Alabama, if they are of legal age and a law abiding citizen, with or without a permit.
"Any individual who has a permit to conceal carry in another U.S. state is legally allowed to carry a firearm in Alabama. During their time in Alabama, they will be subject to the laws of the county and state."
Reciprocity Agreements In Alabama
Alabama currently has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming.
Alabama: Where Is CCW Allowed?
- State parks (handguns only)
- State and national forests (handguns only)
- Road side rest areas
- Bars and restaurants
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Places Not Allowed
- Public school grounds which are composed of K-12 grades
- School bus used for K-12 grades
- Demonstrations at public places
- University of Alabama
- Building of a highway patrol station, sheriff, or police
- Inside any area hosting a professional athletic event not related to firearms which is sponsored by a private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of post secondary education.
- Inside a facility which provides in-patient or custodial care of those with psychiatric, mental, or emotional disorders.
- Inside a courthouse or courthouse annex
- Prison, jail, halfway house, community corrections facility, or other detention facility for those who have been charged with or convicted of a criminal or juvenile offense.
- Building in which a District Attorney’s office is located
- Building in which a county commission or city council is currently having a meeting
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Alabama: Conceal Carry Laws
Yes, Alabama allows permit-less open carry if the individual is 18 years or older and can legally posses a firearm.
Carry In Vehicle
Yes, you can carry a handgun in a vehicle legally without a permit. In the past, you needed a permit to carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle. That is no longer the case. HB 272 allows anyone who is legally allowed to possess a handgun the ability to carry a loaded firearm in their vehicle, not locked in a compartment or portable safe, with or without a permit.
13A-11-73 – Alabama Code
Carry In State Parks
Yes, it is legal to carry in state parks so long as you have the appropriate approval from the manager of the state park and have notified them of your intent to conceal carry.
In alignment with the new bill [HB 272], The Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources also changed their policies for firearms. You no longer need a concealed carry permit to carry your firearms in state and national parks, state and national forests and wildlife management areas in Alabama.
Here is the section of the code for this situation:
"It shall be unlawful for any person other than a duly authorized law enforcement officer to possess or carry into any State Park any form of firearm without written permission of the manager in charge of the State Park visited"
Make sure to contact the manager of the park:
- State Parks: YES – Admin Code 220.5.08 (only handguns)
- State/National Forests: YES
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – Admin Code 220.2 (only handguns)
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Admin Code 220-5-.08
Carry In Restaurants
Yes, there are no statutes prohibiting firearms in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol, with or without a permit.
I think it's important to note that alcohol inhibits your ability to make good judgments. Be very careful carrying within an establishment that serves alcohol, not because you (the trusted reader) can't handle your liquor, but because other people might not.
Yes, Alabama is a Constitutional Carry state as of January 1, 2023. The government passed into law HB 272 on March 10, 2022, with allows any law-abiding Alabama resident or U.S. citizen who is at least 19 years old or older and legally permitted to carry a firearm to carry a concealed pistol.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
No, “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Alabama gun laws.
Must Notify Officer
No, there is no duty to inform but it is considered a courtesy. However, Alabama gun laws states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business.
Red Flag Law
No, there are no red flag laws in Alabama.