North Dakota

North Dakota state seal
North Dakota state flag

North Dakota operates as a “Shall Issue” state and there are 2 types of permits.

Class 1 & 2 permits where the latter allows for travel outside the state. Applications are processed by a state agency called the Bureau of Criminal Investigation which is completed after you’ve submitted your application to the local sheriff’s office.

You must pass a written test and firearms course for Class 1 & 2 permits

 

North Dakota

  • Age 18 for a Class 2 license, or age 21 for a Class 1 license.
  • A United States citizen or legal permanent resident alien.
  • Legally able to possess a firearm/dangerous weapon.
  • Must be a resident of North Dakota for 1 year as evidenced by ND driver license or ND ID card.
  • Successfully complete the training requirements.
  • Not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.
  • No disqualifying offenses. A criminal background check is conducted on every new and renewal applicant. If you have been convicted of any alcohol-related offense within the past 10 years, you are ineligible for a Class 1 license but may apply for a Class 2 license.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons 

Follow these steps to obtain a permit
No permit will be required after August 1, 2017

    1. Decide if you want a Class 1 or Class 2 license
    2. Download the application under the FORMS tab.
    3. Make an appointment with a test Administrator. All first time applicants must pass a written test based on the Concealed Weapon License Manual.
    4. If you chose a Class 1 license you will also need to complete a firearms proficiency test.
    5. Gather the required documents together
      • Cashiers check or money order for $60;
      • Photocopy of your drivers license;
      • Two color passport photos
      • Two fingerprint cards (for new applicants)
    6. Mail the completed application and all required documents to;

BCI-CWL
PO Box 1054
Bismarck ND 58502

New Permits: $60
Renewal: $60

Accepted forms of payment;
Cashiers check, Money order

Made payable to “Office of Attorney General”

North Dakota

North Dakota

North Dakota

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

North Dakota

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

North Dakota

    North Dakota

    North Dakota

    North Dakota

    Places Allowed

    • State parks
    • State and national forests
    • Road side rest areas
    • Vehicle
    • All areas of the state – except those listed below 

    Places Not Allowed

    • Public gatherings
    • Athletic or sporting events
    • Schools or school functions
    • Churches or church functions
    • Political rallies or functions
    • Musical concerts
    • Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages or is used as a gaming site
    • individuals in publicly owned parks where hunting is not allowed by proclamation and publicly owned or operated buildings
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

    North Dakota

    No
    NO – Without a Permit/License You can only open carry if you have a concealed permit/license.
    Yes
    YES/NO – Without a Permit/License Currently, it is illegal to carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle if you do not have a permit. With a permit, you can legally conceal carry in a vehicle. This will probably all change after August 1, 2017. However, I have not seen the new laws yet.
    Yes
    YES You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
    Yes
    YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol Allowed in any part of a restaurant were a person under 21 years of age is permitted. “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
    No
    No
    NO “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in North Dakota gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
    No
    NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law North Dakota gun laws do not require you to inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm. But you are legally obligated to carry your permit/license at all times you have a firearm on your person and to hand the permit over if requested by law enforcement.

    North Dakota

    Quick Facts

    Open Carry

    No

    Carry In Vehicle

    Yes

    Carry In State Parks

    Yes

    Carry In Restaurants

    Yes

    Constitutional Carry

    No

    No Weapons Signs Enforced

    No

    Must Notify Officer

    No
    Quick Links

    Get Started

    • Training
    • Gear
    • Reviews

    Resources

    Join The Movement

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Instagram

    Copyright 2018 © All rights Reserved.