As of January 1, 2023, Alabama is constitutional carry state. Meaning you no longer need to have a permit to open or conceal carry.
On the other hand, if you still wanted to get your Alabama gun permit for other reasons you still have that option available to you. However, there are laws you need to know before applying for the permit as a resident of the state.
Also, non-residents that intend to carry firearms in the state must be familiar with the gun statutes.
Alabama Gun Permit Summary
Alabama has a shall-issue policy for the issue of its concealed weapon permit, with the application process done at the local county by the sheriff’s office.
To apply for the Alabama pistol permit, you must meet the state requirements.
Alabama concealed carry permit is for only residents of the state. Non-residents can make use of out of state permits.
- Recommended Reading: Alabama Gun Laws
How To Get A Gun Permit In Alabama?
You can apply for an Alabama concealed weapon permit if you are at least 19 years old, and you do not have any restriction or prohibition against possessing firearms.
The permit is only needed for concealed carry because Alabama is not a licensed open carry state.
State Gun Permit Laws
Open carry is legal in Alabama for anybody that is of legal age of 19 years old or more. However, you cannot open carry in places that are off-limit, like in schools, hospitals, and courthouses.
Alabama permits the open carry of firearms such as machine guns and semi-automatic weapons, as long as you comply with all federal regulations.
Requirements For Concealed Weapon Permit In Alabama
To apply for an Alabama concealed weapon permit, you must meet the state requirements. They include the following:
- You must be at least nineteen years old.
- You must live in the county you are applying from, or be a member of the United State Armed Forces posted to the state, or a spouse of a military member.
- You must not have, at any point in time, been a sexual offender in Alabama.
- You must not be a mentally impaired person, such that it makes you not guilty in a criminal case.
- You must not be admitted to a mental hospital or a similar health care center for the use of narcotics or any other reason.
- You must not be facing any prosecution or guilty of any crime that could lead to the state prohibiting you from the possession of firearms within its jurisdiction.
- You must not be a threat to public safety in the state.
- You must be a legal citizen of the United States of America.
- You must meet every other federal requirement for the possession of firearms under the federal statutes.
Different Types Of Gun Permits In Alabama
A summary of firearms permits purchase in Alabama includes the following:
- State permit to purchase long guns: Alabama does not issue a state permit to purchase long guns.
- State permits to purchase handguns: Alabama does not issue a state permit to purchase handguns.
- State permit to open carry: Alabama is a permissive state, therefore no permit is required to open carry.
- State permits to conceal carry long guns: Alabama does not issue a state permit to conceal handguns.
- State permits to conceal carry handguns: Alabama issues a pistol permit to conceal carry handguns in the state.
How Much Does It Cost To Get A Gun License In Alabama?
Alabama charges twenty dollars per year on all new or renewal permits in the state. So, since the state issues a five-year permit, the cost is one hundred dollars.
Veterans and retirees of the military that meet all state requirements to apply for the permit are not required to pay a fee.
Gun Permits Application And Renewal Laws In Alabama?
The process for applying for Alabama Concealed Weapon permit includes the following:
Obtain The Application Form
Apply for the application form and get it from the office of the sheriff in your local county.
This process varies from one county to another. For example, in Elmore County, you can download the permit application from an online portal.
Complete Your Application Form
After collecting or downloading the application form, complete it accordingly.
Submit Your Application Form
Submit the form to your local sheriff’s office after completing the application.
Receive Application Notification
You will receive a mail notifying you of an approved or denied application.
Alabama concealed weapon permit is valid for five years, after which you have to renew.
The renewal process includes the following:
Submit Your Old License
Take your old license to the sheriff’s office. In some counties, you can send it by mail, while others make use of an online renewal system.
Receive Application Notification
After about thirty days, you will get a notification on the application.
Gun Permit Reciprocity With Alabama
Alabama honors permit from other states in the country. Its reciprocity includes the following:
States That Alabama Will Accept Their Permit
Alabama allows the concealed carry of firearms within its jurisdiction for non-residents with out-of-state permits. However, while in Alabama, you must comply with the gun laws.
Alabama honors these states permits: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico
New York (except from New York City), North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Puerto Rico.
States That Will Honor Alabama’s Permit
You can make use of Alabama concealed weapon permits in Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Vermont.
States With Restricted Reciprocity For Alabama Concealed Weapon Permits
Alabama’s age requirement for obtaining a permit is nineteen years old. But these states will only allow you to conceal carry with Alabama’s permit if you are at least twenty-one years old. They include the following: Arizona, Alaska, Colorado, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
States That Do Not Require Permits
Anybody can conceal carry in these states because they have a constitutional or permitless policy. They include: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming.
FAQs About Gun Permits In Alabama
Most frequently asked questions about gun permits in Alabama that you must know include the following:
Do I Need A Permit To Conceal Carry Firearms In Alabama?
No, Alabama is a constitutional carry state. You may conceal carry in the state if you are over 19 years old and meet all of the qualifications.
Learn more here: Alabama Constitutional Carry
How Long Is Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit Valid?
The maximum validity period for the permit is five years.
Can Non-Residents Apply For Alabama Firearm Permits?
No, Alabama firearm permit is not available to non-residents of the state. The only exception to this are members of the National guards posted to the state and their spouses
How Can I Change The Name And Address On My Alabama Concealed Weapon License?
To change any information on your permit, contact the sheriff’s office of your local county.
What Can I Do If I Lost My Permit Or It Gets Stolen?
As soon as you realize that your permit is missing or stolen, contact your local county sheriff to issue you a new permit.
How Soon Can I Apply For Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit After Moving To The State?
You must be a permanent resident before applying for an Alabama concealed weapon permit. As soon as you have gotten a residence in Alabama, visit the local sheriff’s county to apply.
Can I Make Use Of Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit After Moving To Another State In The Country?
No, you cannot make use of the Alabama permit in any state, except if there is a reciprocity agreement with that state.
Also, upon establishing residency in another state, your Alabama concealed carry permit becomes invalid.
Do I Need An Alabama Permit To Open Carry In The State?
No, Alabama does not issue a permit for open carry in the state.
It is a permissive state, and you can open carry as long as you are 19 years old or more, and you do not have a prohibition against making use of firearms.
What Is The Minimum Age Requirement To Apply For Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit?
You can apply for an Alabama concealed firearm permit if you are 19 years old or more.
Do I need A Permit To Purchase Firearms In Alabama?
No, Alabama does not issue a purchase permit to buy firearms in the state.
Does My Firearm Permit Exempt Me From Completing A Criminal Record Background Check Before Buying Firearms In The State?
No. You must complete a criminal record check whether or not you have a firearm permit except for the transfer of firearms between family members or purchasing from a private firearm dealer.
Do I Need An Alabama Concealed Permit To Possess Firearms In My Private Property?
No, there is no requirement to own a firearm permit before possession in one’s home of residence, workplace, or private car, as long as the person is not a minor.
Do I Need To Complete A Firearm Training Before Applying For Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit?
No, there is no state requirement to complete a firearm training before applying for a concealed weapon permit in Alabama.
What Is The Processing Period For Firearm Permits In Alabama?
The processing period for Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit is thirty days.
Does Alabama Have Ammunition And Firearm Restrictions?
Alabama prohibits the possession and dealing of Teflon coated ammunition for handguns and armor-piercing ammunition.
However, the use of assault weapons like machine guns and semi-automatic weapons are not illegal as long as the owner has a federal license to possess them.
Is Alabama A Preemption Gun Law State?
Yes, the Alabama government has full preemption on local laws of the state, and reserves all right on gun laws.
However, local areas can regulate the use and discharge of firearms within their boundaries.
Do I Need An Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit To Hunt?
Yes, you can conceal carry while hunting in Alabama, as long as you have a permit. However, you cannot use the firearm for hunting or taking down wildlife.
Can A Minor Purchase Firearms In Alabama?
No, You must be at least nineteen years old to purchase firearms from a licensed dealer in Alabama.
Relevant Gun Laws Permits And Legislature In Alabama
Alabama gun statutes that relate to the concealed weapon permits include the following:
Purchase Of Firearms
It is illegal for anybody, even a permit holder in Alabama, to deliver a firearm permit to anybody who:
- Is a convict of any violence crime
- Has committed a misdemeanor offense
- Is a drug addict.
- A chronic drunkard.
- Is guilty of domestic abuse or has an unsound mind.
- Is a minor.
However, this law does not apply to anyone if the state has lifted his or her prohibition to possess firearms.
Also, anybody that deliberately tries to purchase a firearm from a licensed dealer, while he or she has a firearm prohibition, is guilty of a felony.
Alabama code 13A-11-72 explicitly defines all of the restrictions stated in this section.
Selling Of Firearms
Licensed firearm dealers in Alabama can only sell guns and ammunition to a person in a state that legally permits them.
Also, any resident in Alabama buying firearms from another state can have it sent into Alabama.
Possession Of Firearms
Alabama gun laws about possession of firearms with permits in certain parts of the state include:
Possession Of Firearms In Vehicles
You can conceal carry a firearm in your private car.
Alabama code 13A-11-73(b).
Possession Of Firearms In Roadside Areas
You can possess firearms in roadside areas of Alabama.
Possession OF Firearms In Forests, Parks, And Wildlife Management Areas
You can possess your firearms in these areas as long as you inform the park manager, according to Alabama Code 220-2-.08
Possession Of Firearms In Places For Alcohol Consumption
If you can possess firearms in Alabama, you can carry them in restaurants and bars, and similar places with the consumption of alcohol.
Possession Of Firearms In Hotels
Alabama gun laws indicate that the possession of firearms in private buildings of properties is only possible with consent from the landowner.
Hotels and similar establishments have the right to come up with policies, so you need to contact the management to know if you can possess firearms within the premises.
Alabama Code 13A-11-52
Possession Of Firearms In Workplaces
According to Alabama Code 13A-11-90, employers may allow the possession of firearms in private cars parked in a designated area, if the owner is a concealed permit holder.
However, the permit holder must lock the firearm away in a compartment or hidden part of the vehicle.
Other Alabama Gun Laws To Know
Alabama Gun Laws
Alabama Concealed Carry Laws
Alabama Open Carry Laws
Alabama Constitutional Carry
Alabama Hunting Laws